1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Component broken off graphics card

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by xaeem, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space


    Bumber man :cry::cry::cry: Good luck finding some parts out there we all feel u
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Did you notice how the background was in focus? He could easily take a better picture, but hey it's not a huge deal over something like this and I'm sure the blurriness is just due to lack of photographic skills.

    I'm good. :toast:
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    i think this thread is a joke, he's not replying.
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Chill, not everyone have access to internets everyday. If he is coming, good. If not, what did we lose? Besides, he does not need to reply, he could have seen all those and repaired his card accordingly.
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    ya, maybe he's busy. TPU should start a sms service just like Facebook.

    But he COULD have taken better pics with a little bit of more lighting.
  6. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    ===================



    At lease this thread will help other with this problem :toast:
  7. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    replace the cap with the same value. its not hard as long as the legs on the replacement are long enough... the legs go right through the pcb so remove the old legs and put the new cap in. it doesnt have to be exactly on the pcb a little gap should be ok. you can usually source one off of some dead hardware. mobo's and old gpu's are a good place to start looking. so long as the replacement cap voltage is the same as the origional along with the uf rating that is equal to or greater than the origional you should be quite ok. soldering it back on should be a piece of cake and if you are new to soldering it would be a great learning experience.

    also remember that when soldering caps that its crucial that + and - are in the proper positions othewise you will blow the cap and possibly the card.
    segalaw19800 says thanks.
  8. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    How I love blowing up thes cap ha ha aha:roll:
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    That is a choke. As POS said some are installed that way, but it looks like there is another one on the board that is perfectly straight, so it may have been damaged too.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    no, i dont think so. the only way to confirm is to slightly move that choke and see if the leads hat are soldered onto the PCB are loose. other than that there isnt anyother thing that can go wrong with a choke.


    and there is no fuckin + and - for a capacitor!!
  11. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Yes there is a + and a - on an electrolytic capacitor. It's irrelevant on ceramic ones
  12. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    :wtf:
    :slap:
    :D
    FilipM says thanks.
  13. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    :roll:
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Happened to me once with a 7900GS, happened to be the best clocking 7900GS on tpu :)
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    Yeah, I agree. The OP should have the decency to at least come on here and thank people for all their replies and let us know how he's getting on with the card. A quick thankyou costs nothing and brings good will all round. And I practice what I preach - just look at the number of posts I have and my ratio of thanks to thanked posts I have.

    And those pictures are indeed unreasonably bad, as I've said in a previous post here.
  16. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    I'm an IT professional, so you can take my high quality advice as gospel.
    Today's Tech Tip: if your office PC is crashing, wait until there's no one in the office, then swap it with you're colleague's PC
    . by Qubit..

    :laugh::laugh::roll::roll:
    qubit says thanks.
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    you gotta be fucking kidding me.

    a simple capacitor is a device with two thin conducting plates separated by a very small distance. the plates may be concentric circular plates or spherical plates or just plain plates. these plates are connected to the leads(then follows something scientific most wont understand here so i'll skip that part). to increase the "capacitance" of the capacitors the empty space between the plates is filled with a di-electric medium. for electrolytic caps, its an electrolyte and for solid state new caps it is a conductive polymer compound. so there is no fucking way that you can find a + or - on an electrolytic cap. and trust me, i worked all these years with caps without finding their + or -
  18. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,094 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,614
    Im not going to claim to be some capacitor guru, but a Google search for "capacitor polarity" says different :laugh: I'd like to know the right answer.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    No you didn't. Don't talk rubbish, man. :roll: In fact, this is such a load of tosh, I'm wondering if you're trolling?

    Every electrolytic capacitor ever made is clearly marked with its polarity. This is basic schoolboy electronics. I'll leave it up to you to look it up and educate yourself.

    I suggest this site: www.justfuckinggoogleit.com or Wikipedia.

    To everyone: never connect an electrolytic capacitor the wrong way. You'll damage it, it will outgas and may even explode in some cases. Other types, such as ceramics, don't care which way you connect them.
    FilipM says thanks.
  20. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    240 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    actually both types exists : non-polarized electrolytic capacitors and polarized electrolytic capacitors :

    [​IMG]

    1.non polarized
    2 &3. polarized

    lookout for those specific symbols on the PCB near the missing component

    Alternatively i have that spare radeon x1650se and took a closer look at the caps:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    C40 is clearly polarized (notice the "+" on the PCB ) while C41 has no distinctive polarisation written on the PCB
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2010
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909

    i guess i have been plain lucky the?? :roll:
  22. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    i've finished 2nd year high school (out of 4) - technical science - electrotehnician for computer science and automated processes. In the practical bit we have been building all sorts of stuff - water detectors, filters, amplifiers, oscillators, multivibrators etc, and electrolytic capacitors have always had the polarity writen on the casing (either + or -, usually -) and they must be conected in the proper way. I've never had a capacitor blow up on me even if deliberately connected the wrong way, only thing it happened was that the whole circuit won't work.
  23. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    589 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Has anything ever fallen off a card without it being a capacitator?
  24. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    A capacitor is the most common component that usually "falls off".
  25. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    If miss handle :rolleyes:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page