1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Component Shortage Holding Back Radeon HD 6900 Series

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,367 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Originally slated for 22 November, AMD's upcoming Radeon HD 6900 series featuring the company's new enthusiast-grade "Cayman" GPU core reportedly ran into delays. A more recent report by VR-Zone suggests that these delays are not because of any yield-issue related to the GPU, but shortage of a new high-grade driver-MOSFET (DrMOS) chip used on the reference board, sourced from Texas Instruments. The said component looks to feature a more compact package compared to the ones commonly made by Renesas and the likes, which is why AMD seems to have chosen it. The TI-made component is in short supply, and is a very recent introduction by its makers. AMD has a knack of using exotic and high-grade components on PCBs of its high-end graphics cards. A driver-MOSFET is a component that combines the driver IC, and MOSFETs into a single package.

    [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
    Super XP, streetfighter 2 and jmcslob say thanks.
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,897 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Good to know...Absolutely love the progress of GPU's Lately
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    well, if you read the source:

    In other words, they won't know for sure until the end of next week, but are saying a week delay only, to save face....

    AMD: We got the new gpus ready, but...
    Partner: But what?
    AMD: Well, damn, can't get all the parts.
    Partner:How long will this delay our launch?
    AMD: Dunno.
    Partner: Can't you give us any idea?
    AMD: I dunno. Maybe a week.
    Partner::banghead:
    AMD: Don't worry, we'll know for sure on the 19th...
    Partner: Guess that kills the 22nd launch, let's leak this.

    :laugh:


    Funny, I said that memory was gonna cause a delay, now they say DrMos. :roll: Wish they could make thier minds up.
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  5. fochkoph

    fochkoph

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Argh, nobody likes delays, but I'm still rubbing my grubby paws together waiting for the 6900 to drop.
  6. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    They cant even launch the 6800 correctly. Where are the cards ? I am already waiting 12 days :nutkick:
  7. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    what are you talking about the HD 6870/6850 was plenty, even in here in indonesia i have seen it in every tech store
  8. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    maybe "good shipments" isnt always be on any countries :rolleyes:

    the last time its about driver, now component issues. even they just going into this for the sake of better hardware optimize, i hope they can still on schedule for november release.

    cause many people dont like moaning thinking about waiting correct launch times :eek:
  9. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I can't see memory causing a delay, I mean samsung alone probably has more than enough production to meet that demand.

    It's good to see them going the extra mile and using high grade parts, however a graphics card usually only has a 2 year life before upgrade time (especially high end gamer cards), maybe they should have used the renesas chips this time instead?
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well that sucks, hope they can get all the components in their hands soon.
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Kind of a crap excuse considering didn't they say caymen was pin compatible with Cypress, and they could use the same PCB if they wanted too? So the excuses that they are held up by PCB components seems like a smoke-screen to me since if they wanted to get it out on time they could have just use some Cypress boards to get it started, then switched to the new board when they had enough componenets.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,150 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Would've leaked eventually & they'd have gotten more crap.
  13. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    I could be wrong, but I believe it is Barts that is pin-compatible with Cypress.
    yogurt_21 and newtekie1 say thanks.
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,739 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,458
    that's correct
    Super XP, Frogger, yogurt_21 and 2 others say thanks.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Ah, your right. It is still early here and I haven't had my coffee yet. I knew it was one of the new cores that was pin compatible.:toast:

    Thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Theres still some overprized stuff left. Regular 6850 for normal prizes are completly out of stock. According to alternate.de asus 6850 wont happen this month. Go figure :shadedshu
  17. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I'd rather have high end components on a videocard and have it delayed instead of putting B-quality components to reach the release date...
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    couldn't agree more. I believe all of us would rather have a card delayed by a week or 2, than have it released below a manufacturer's expectations just to meet a date. Personally i find this situation very good for AMD. True the GTX 580 is out, however AMD now knows its performance and if it's performance is a good margin ahead of the GTX 580's, they could release drivers that aren't the best they have in their arsenal. This would leave them a Plan B incase Nvidia does magically have an answer to Cayman, and walla release driver improvements that AMD held back to up performance another 5% or something. Just a thought.
  19. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    ...and GTX580 were called paper-launch back then, when almost all of nvidia AIB partners already launch their GTX580 cards.

    AMD wants to follow nvidia...in the wrong way :laugh:
  20. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    I like the idea of using DrMos instead of mosfet and driver. This should allow the card to run cooler. New parts usually are very expensive, I hope prices won't go crazy because of this.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    I dunno. The required bin for these cards just went into production at the end of September AFAIK, and i don't think they'll use anything other than Hynix because of that. Also, Samsung has extra tarrifs coming into the US and such, due to legal matters, which is why you don't see alot of Samsung memory on the market any more.

    I mean, the way I look at it, a month of memory production, plus time to get that memory places to be put onto boards, those boards then get shipped to OEMs, OEMs then ship to stores...all that ship here, ship there adds alot of time.

    This news kinda tells me exactly what I posted. In fact, I'll take it further and say they decided to make a last-minute component change, and they are waiting for the parts, but a day or two after those parts hit the company making the boards, they'll be going out to the OEMs. Wit that in mind, I see little chance of the cards launching this month, at least in large quantity.

    Hopefully, this wasn't a last-minute change because of faulty design, and merely one to replace a lower quality, cheaper component used to save on cost, with one that can boost power so the cards clock better.
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  22. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    744 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    amd should send there videocards to msi xd, they have on there motherboard drmos, they probally know how to handle this issue lol

    fail for amd
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    How is Texas Instruments being unable to deliver a fail for AMD?
  24. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,807 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Hehe my Sapphire 5870 already has DrMos's on it :p
  25. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    744 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ati sounds better, XD
    idunno

    if they made it right the first time, than there would be no problems.

    amd plz release it soon, i want to know how ''good'' those cards are

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page