1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Components missing from board - likely to work?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by scaminatrix, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Hi all, I've just been given a 2GB 5970 and there are some components missing from the PBA. I'm going to test it at the weekend but I was hoping that someone could give me a hint of what I'm in for :p

    All 6 of these components are missing.

    [​IMG]

    And if it works, what's it worth; just out of interest? :)
  2. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Those are SMD capacitors. Check if they were originally soldered. Download a photo of the same card. You can get replacements of the same from a similar GPU. Any defunct old card will do.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  3. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,755 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    892
    It looks like they broke off. You can see the solder.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  4. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Interested to see how this turns out! Sub'd buddy!
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,654 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,832
    I believe those are caps used to filter the PCI-E signal. Each pair corresponds to a PCI-E lane. Since the first 3 pairs broke off, that means the first 3 PCI-E lanes won't work. Without at least the first PCI-E lane the card probably won't function.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Central Israel
    wont running it in 8x mode solve it?
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    I can't say if it'll work or not but I have a 5970 myself. Shoot me a pm if you want photos or any other details.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Here's a pic from a W1z review of the 5970. Careful, it's big!

    [​IMG]
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,654 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,832
    No, because the PCI lanes start at the front of the slot and go back to the latch. Lanes 1, 2, and 3 are damaged, so chances are the motherboard won't even initialize the slot as most motherboard require something to be active on Lane 1 to initialize and use the slot.
    Chevalr1c and scaminatrix say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    562 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    "Presence pin" is the intentionally shortened one at the very beginning of the PCI-E connector. So the motherboard will be made aware of the card's presence. Those caps filter the incoming signal from the PCI-E slot. It could very well work, as these are low capacitance (1-50nF) AC coupling caps. It's not like they're not needed, but they may be non-essential. Try the card, and let us know how it went.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,131 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    +1... that 'sense' pin is what generally tells a mobo there is a card there. Not sure how the need is after that, if it will/can skip borked lanes like that...

    I vote on try it as well... :rockout:
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  12. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    The card will work without the very first cap. I have a 5770 with it missing. It only runs at 8x though and can not be used with another 5770 as the system will not boot if it is in the first slot and if it is in the second slot the system will not see it.

    I've tried the card on multiple boards that I have also and always with the same results.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Thanks peeps, I'll definitely be giving it a go this weekend. They definitely broke off; the only reason I actually noticed them is because one of the caps was stuck to the legs of the U8002 chip; and it stuck out like a sore thumb there. Wish I could get it into work so they could re-solder it.

    Does anyone know of diagnostic software/hardware that will check each lane individually? Google reveals that there is for boards, but not cards. Not that I can find anyway.

    Luke - if you're reading this; can you PM your e-mail addy on these forums please? I'm not sure if I got it right :eek:

    Think I'm gonna kill my thanks quota in this thread :laugh:
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,654 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,832
    I've seen damage like this fixed by just connecting the two solder joints for each missing piece with conductive ink. Though never on a card of this caliber, I've only seen it done on low end cards.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,164 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    365
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Soldering those components is a piece of cake. If you can't do it yourself, any motherboard repair shop or even a mobile repair shop will do it. :)
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Never seen motherboard repair shop here in the EU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    The closest we have here is general electronics shops, which mainly survive because they have contracts with retailers.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  18. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    562 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    It seems that component recycling at the manufacturer's side is more economical than repairs. On the other hand, a "throwaway culture" is rapidly emerging everywhere. Your electronic device has stopped working? Aww, how sad. Chuck it out and buy a new one - it's cheaper, plus you get a warranty!

    Consumerism at it's best (worst).
    itsakjt and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,851 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    What kinda of Gorilla had that card before you man?!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page