1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer $400 budget, help?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Jonathan5, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't know much about computers, so I was wondering if someone could put together a gaming computer for me for $400? I know it isn't much, but it's all I have and I'm really in need of a new computer. My rig now can't really even handle WoW that well. (6 FPS in AV, 30 else where =[ hehe) I wanted to try Warhammer, and I was looking forward to Darkfall, so if it could handle either of those games, that'd be great. It doesn't have to include a monitor, mouse, keyboard, or speakers. If for whatever reason there was money left over, then ok, great. Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I will put one together now. You live in the US correct? Also, Warhammer is ok.. If you are pretty set in WoW(lvl 60+, mount, tons of gold) I would just stick with it.
     
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Do you plan on reusing your current operating system (windows, etc.) or are you needing a new one. A new OS will greatly cut into your budget so I would recommend reusing it. I am guessing you are on xp so it should be fine.
     
  4. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I knew I forgot to mention something. I do live in the U.S. and I wont be needing a new O.S.. I'll stick with my Windows XP, maybe later I'll need Vista for DX10 or something, idk...

    Sold my WoW account all ready, so sticking with it isn't an option lol =P.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  6. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
  7. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah... well I'm pretty sure I'm losing my job lol. Dammit. Anyways thank you for the build, looks pretty good. Pretty sure I'll end up getting it.
     
  8. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I wouldn't bother, the system is kinda lower end so its not going to be able to take advantage of 4gb of ram. Plus he is going to be using xp so he will only be able to use roughly 3gb anyways.
     
  10. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Good point
     
  11. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    but hey nice thing is that its always an option in the future. Especially with the cheap prices of ddr2.
     
  12. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
  15. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Shadow put together a pretty nice build, but you could drop some price and pick up some watts and amps.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817339001

    Is a very nice PSU, my frined has been running this for over a year problem free. I had a 650 HEC powering my old 9850 BE and 2x 3870's and it ran fantastic.

    Everything else I would say is about right on, just as long as you remember to crank up that 4830's GPU.

    Also you could go the Intel route and grab a e1200 or e2200, but thats only if your into OC'ing, the C2D's are just so good at that. But take that route if your into OC'ing because both those will crack 3ghz.
     
  17. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't know how to OC.. never done it. Maybe I could have a friend help with that or something.
     
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I would worry about getting your computer up and running first. Work out all the bugs. OCing is fun and a great way to get some extra performance but it can also introduce many problems. Better to avoid the headache.

    Also I would stick with the Antec powersupply suggested by shadow. The hec may look like a better deal but the Antec is going to be a lot higher quality and your not going to have to worry about it blowing up on you.
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Not bad for 400 bucks. But you could upgrade a few things if he recycled some parts off of his old one. Optical drives and Hard Drive come to mind. Maybe even the case?

    Current system specs?
     
  20. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    That was really nice of ShadowFold to do that. That's a solid computer.

    I agree.
     
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Read the reviews, HEC's are solid power supplys you will be hard pressed to find any one of their PSU's under a 4 egg rating and with quiet a bit of reviews. I bought my old 650W HEC for like $99 2 years ago. They are good equipment, to this day that PSU is running strong.
     
  22. Jonathan5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Lol, recycling isn't going to be an option when you see these specs. The computer is pretty old, I'm not sure on somethings so I'm just going to list what I know.

    CPU - AMD Athlon, ~1.3ghz
    RAM - 1024 DDR (256 x2, 512 x1)
    GPU - Nvidia GeForce 6600 128mb (AGP)
    HDD - 28g, thats all I know
    CD - Bad, old, no DvD
    Mobo - No idea, KT600 Soyo Dragon?
    Case - Black (Dragon), no side panel (which if I'm correct at some point contained a fan), and about from the looks of it only 3 bay expansion slots or w/e.
     
  23. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I'll second on the HDD, and dvd burner. For someone that's not going to OC, I'd look into the AMD 6000+ brisbane (3.1GHz), and 2GB of ram will suffice for now.
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Oh well. Go with Shadowfolds build. Its a nice one for the price.
     
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I would go with the 6000+ Windsor over the Brisbane, only 100mhz less and 1mb more L2. They added 100mhz to try and cover the difference of skimping on the L2, but in my mind that just won't cut it especially for a gamer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page