1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer beeps but only shows a flashing underscore

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kuribo, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Today I have assembled my first homebuilt computer. After installing the PSU, Motherboard, CPU, RAM, and Graphics card, and connecting it to a monitor, the computer fails to show any information. It does beep once, but then it shows a black screen with a flashing underscore in the top left corner.

    The components used:

    Corsair CX400W | CMPSU-400CXEU
    Kingston ValueRAM KVR1333D3N9K2/4G | KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
    AMD Athlon II X4 630 | ADX630WFGIBOX
    Sapphire Vapor-X HD5750 1GB GDDR5 PCIE | 11164-04-20R
    MSI 770-G45 | 7599-030R

    I have tested it with a single stick of RAM (2GB).

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Meow9000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Wales, Uk
    Right make sure you put all the correct cables into the correct slots, that means the 20/24 pin CPU and the 4/8Pin CPU into the motherboard. Both need to be in.

    You connected the PCI power cables to your graphics card labled PCI-E1/PCI-E2 usually or similar.

    Check your HDD cables and Sata connections.

    It sounds like you haven't plugged something in correctly so give that a shot.
     
    Kuribo says thanks.
  3. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,175 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,640
    Kuribo says thanks.
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    shouldnt need an HDD... :/ its not posting.
     
    Kuribo says thanks.
  6. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is indeed not posting, but I tried the HDD idea anyway. As expected, same deal though.

    Picture: http://img88.imageshack.us/i/hpim5568.jpg/

    Anything it could be besides a faulty component? If it must be a faulty component, which one is it most likely? The motherboard?
     
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    I hate to be the bearer of most likely bad news, but I would play with all the hardware, move it around, make sure all the PSU cables are in. Maybe take the mobo out and put it on a box instead of in the case.
     
  8. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    If that motherboard behaves like by brothers' (one beep before bios post, one beep after) something is stoping the bios from loading and running.

    There is a comment on NewEgg indicating that the front panel connections written on the manual are wrong:
    Maybe that has something to do with it?
     
    Kuribo says thanks.
  9. Meow9000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Wales, Uk
    Not not to be rude, i know its your first build but did you use standoffs to install the motherboard into the case ?
     
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    1. shoudn't matter (front panel connectors)
    2. check that teh motherboard isnt touching the case as meow said.
    3. check that the CLR_CMOS jumper is in the correct position. Sometimes if the jumper is activated the board will behave as you described.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  11. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The motherboard is for sure not touching the case. I even took it out and had it on the cardboard box, and it still yielded the same results.

    The CMOS jumper is in the right position according to the manual, I believe. Unless I am looking at it the wrong way. Should I switch it and see what happens, or could that damage it?
     
  12. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    I would try the following:


    1. Clear the cmos.
    2. Check the bios versions available for your mobo to see if your cpu is supported by default or requires a certain version.
     
    Kuribo and phanbuey say thanks.
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    ^^ thats prolly it right there.
     
  14. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Clearling the CMOS doesn't seem to help, unless I am doing it wrong. The first time I try to boot it after clearing the CMOS, instead of beeping once, it does 1 long beep and then 2 very short ones.

    Also on this page: http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=prodcpu2&prod_no=1937&maincat_no=1
    it lists:
    Athlon II X4 Propus ADX630WFK42GI x630 200 2.80 2M N/A C2 95 7599vA4.zip

    I'm pretty sure that is the CPU I have, so it seems it is supported, right? Or did I not understand your post?
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    Maybe try a different PCI-e slot on the videocard.
     
  16. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    After resetting, it's not so much a LONG beep and then 2 short ones, it's more like 1 normal beep and then 2 extra short beeps. The first beep just seems long in comparison.

    I've moved the graphics card from one slot to another, but still the same thing happens.

    Btw, I appreciate all the suggestions so far. Thanks a lot.
     
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    have you played with the easy OC switch?
     
  18. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  19. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah try switching them off.. At this point you have nothing to lose, so I would start all trying different things... Unplug all the USB, if any... switch to off the OC switch... try every ram slot with one stick.

    at this point, if its not catastrophic, which you cant do anything about, then its most likely somthing stupid, like the 4 pin or the 20 pin not being all the way in. or the video power connectors not being all the way in...

    EDIT: NVM, there they are.
     
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,997 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    I assume the bios is AMI?

    If so, my handy old school book of codes says 1 long and two short beeps is a video error specifically in its bios rom. Take this with a grain of salt, as this book was written some time ago.
    EDIT: looked at award codes and it goes to a video issue as well:(

    Any way to try another GPU?
     
    Kuribo says thanks.
  21. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've tried switching RAM slots, and tried all the different Easy OC switch settings, but it's a no go.
    Earlier on, I've tried a different graphics card that my neighbor had, but it didn't change a thing.

    So do you guys think there is a faulty component?

    Also, something that has been puzzling me, my PSU has one cable that ends in 2 4-pin plugs, only one of which I can actually plug into the motherboard. I've tried switching them up, but is it normal that only one is plugged in, and the other just kinda hangs there?
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah thats for an 8 pin, you only have a 4 pin so the remaining 4 pin will hang there.
     
  23. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,997 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    read the post just above yours;)
     
  24. Kuribo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you mean your post when you said it could be a GPU error?
    I've tried a different GPU, and it still didn't work. It seems like the only thing I'm sure of at this point is that the GPU is not to blame, since it's the only component I've actually switched.

    As for the 3 beeps, 1 normal one and 2 short ones, it only happens the first boot after a CMOS reset. All other times, it just beeps once.
     
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,997 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    can you try another GPU? Even if the code is comming up once, its a starting point, everything else is just a guess;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page