1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer CRASH/STALL all the time with a Asus P5E3 mobo and Corsair 1333Mhz mem

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ardalan, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I built my own computer last summer, it consists of:

    MOBO:
    Asus P5E3 DELUXE/WIFI-AP

    MEMORY:
    Corsair TW3X4G1333C9DHX 2x2048MB (tot. 4096MB) DDR3 1333MHz

    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 QUAD Q9450 2.66GHz 12MB FSB1333

    GRAPHIC:

    Asus Extreme GeForce 8800GTX 768MB DDR3

    My problem is that it craches all the time.
    when i have both of the memory cards in it hangs more frequently, but when i have only one it took a bit longer. This was under Vista, and ive been only using one of the memory cards for a hole year. Last month i installed Windows 7, and it can crash after 5 minutes now.
    Ive had the mobo tested at the store i bought it and they found no problems, they even tested it with my memory cards. But im not sure that they tested it, since i did not buy them there.
    I believe that its the memory cards. Ive allso tested the computer with MemTest88 (something like that name), and it found fault.

    Any tips??? i cant use my compter now... its reaaally annoying.
    and i cant go out and by new memory to test with, i would be able to return them after the test.
     
  2. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Its your memory

    If memtest found an error that's what its is
     
  3. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If its the memory, how come the store did not say anything? they must have not tested it.
    Is there any known problems when using this mobo and memory?????
    im thinking that its the voltage or something...
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you gone into the bios and set the frequencies/timings/voltages as recommended by Corsair?
     
  5. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    is this your ram?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...top Memory)-_-Corsair (XMS Series)-_-20145198

    set the voltage to 1.7v

    quote from one of the reviews
     
  6. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Those are my memories.
    Im guessing that the recomened settings are on ther web-page, but im having a hard time using that site. Now im using the mobos default settings.
     
  7. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    maybe a faulty set
     
  8. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    on the newegg link its rated 1333 @ 1.7v
     
  10. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    on ASUS.COM i found this
    "Furthermore, the supply voltage for the memory is reduced from 1.8 V for DDR2 to just 1.5 V for DDR3. This voltage reduction limits the power consumption and heat generation of DDR3 which makes it an ideal memory solution. "

    Am i understanding this that the default settings is 1.5V?????
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,547 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    yep. you bought ram that requires more than default to work.
     
  12. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anyone know how to change this setting in BIOS??? i cant find it
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,547 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    read the manual, look around. The board will definately have it.
     
  14. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i found where in bios, and i changed it from AUTO (default was 1.5v) to 1.7v, and rebooted.
    after 3 minutes the computer crashed into a bluescreen. it did not do that, it sayed "this is done to protect youre computer from a xxxxx"..

    should i change anything else except the voltage maybe??
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,547 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    manually set the timings as well?

    Obviously needs more than just voltage, now we need to figure out what.
     
  16. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anyone know what needs to change other than the DRAM voltage????
     
  17. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Wot mussels said - tells us what your timings are, they are in BIOS.
     
  18. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, sorry i didnt understand that.
    The timing is on default:
    1st Information: 9-9-9-24-4-60-10-5
    2nd Information: 10-5-5-4-7-4-7

    On the Memory sticks it says "9-9-9-24"
     
  19. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    i have skimmed through a couple of the posts... so this may have been covered... but it sure sounds like a memory problem.

    Do you have another set of ram to test... or can you test the system with only one stick installed, then the other to single out which one it is
     
  20. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Maybe ram isn't supported by his mobo?
     
  21. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im running on one of the sticks, ive tried all of the combinations.
    when i run on both it crashes faster, but when i run on one of them it goes sometimes a bit faster.
    I really believe it is the voltage problem, because when im in the OS and use memory related programs it crashes, like youtube, or when i use MSN and several explorer pages running. So it seems like it crashes when it goes over the load.
    Now it hasent crashed for 1-2 hours, thats because im not sitting by the computer all the time.
     
  22. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    have you tried loosening the ram timings and upping the voltage a bit to rule that possibility out?
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,547 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    maybe try slightly higher than you have been, on the memory voltage.


    you also havent stated what PSU you have.
     
  24. Ardalan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im not very familiar with DRAM stats, could you say what loosening the ram timing means?
    i dont know what numbers to write manually
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,547 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    with memory timings, higher is looser, lower is tighter.

    Looser (higher/slower) timings, can increase stability at the cost of speed - the reverse is true as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page