1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer crashes

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by genaropfr, Dec 24, 2006.

  1. genaropfr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My computer crashes after trying to install a program or exiting a game. I completely formated the hardrive 3 times and installed windows. It seems to keep crashing. I think it has something to do with System Voltages settings, but I have no idea what the optimal values are. Please look at my setting and tell me if I should mess with them. Thanks in advance and merry XMAS!


    SPECS:

    CPU: 64 X2 4200+ Windsor 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2

    RAM: OCZ S.O.E 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

    Video Card: PNY 8800GTX

    MoBo: Foxconn C51XEM2AA- 8EKRS2H Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD

    HD: Maxtor 3320GB SATA

    PSU: Modular RX-630A 630Watts


    All settings set to AUTO under BIOS:

    RAM: 5 5 5 15 5, DDR2 800Mhz - 1.88V
    tRDD - 4 clock
    AsyncLat - 5ns
    tRC - 23 clock
    tWR - 6 clock
    tRWT - 4 clock
    tWTR - 3 clock
    tREF - 3.9uS
    Read DQS Skew - AUTO
    Read delay from Rx FIFO - 2.5 clock



    CPU: 1.30V - Ref Clock (HTT), MHz 200.9 - CPU Multiplier 11x - Current Frequency 2209.9Mhz
    HT CPU < - > nForce SPP 1.21V
    HT nForce SPP < - > MCP 1.30V
    nForce SPP 1.21V
    nForce MCP 1.49V
    Auxiliarity 1.50V


    I exited FEAR and got this message:

    szAppName: svchost.exe szAppVer: 5.1.26000.2180
    szModName: rpcss.dll szModVer: 5.1.2600.2180
    offset: 00005746

    System Shutdown

    This system is shutting down. Please save all work...this shutdown was initiated by NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM

    it happens everytime I do a clean install.
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Try upgrading your Motherboard drivers. they should be available at the support site for your puter/mobo. Also it looks like your ram voltage is kinda high.
  3. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    I don't know how well the windsor's run when undervolted, but the stock voltage on them is 1.35v. Try upping that.

    Also, Namslas, his ram voltage isn't high. Try raising the voltage to 1.9 or even 2.0 on the ram, and see if that fixes it. Computer crashes could be related to your RAM not running smoothly. Your memory should take 2.0 no problems.
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Yeah, i thought about that after I posted, I agree it should be at least 2.0 to 2.4 shouldn't it? You are also right about the Vcore!! I'm still waking up, and gotta go to the store.
  5. genaropfr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks guys! also, under System Properties, the CPU ID is all weird.

    under Computer, instead of showing the type of CPU, speed, and ram, it shows a whole bunch of weird characters, like...

    ?yW@@@@@@yyyy@y@Y@Y@@Y@Y@y@@@
    @&@@&@UUUYYYYYYYYYYrocessor 4200+
    2.21 GHz, 2.00 GB of RAM
    Physical Address Extension
  6. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    Yeah, generally, 2.0-2.2 is a good voltage for DDR2. Higher than that could be dangerous without really good cooling.

    I've never seen that before. Could be a problem with your version of Windows? I have no idea.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page