1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer crashing badly!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Blacksniper87, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    Hey guys this is my first thread on here. so yeah anyway,

    I have a big problem I have a GTX 280 graphics card, and when ever i start an activity that requires it to cloc up to full speed my computer crashes. The screen ranges from random colours and artifacting to just a single colour.

    However somettimes if im lucky i can uninstall the old drivers and install new ones and it workss perfectly. NOTE: it is only the last point that makes me think that this is not a grphics card issue.


    Any help would be greatly appreciated guys thanks:):)
     
  2. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    It could be your "Unknown" power supply, can you look at it and see how much wattage and amps it has?
     
  3. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    740 watts. and about 72 amps on 12V and 25A on the 5V
     
  4. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Well that pretty much rules out the power supply, do you have another video card that you can try? Also what drivers are you running and have you overclocked it at all?
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2009
  5. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    no overclock and i am running the 182.06 ones i think. As far as video cards go i don't have anything comparable the next fastest card i have is a 7900 GTX
     
  6. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Try the new driver's, the 182.08's and see if that fix's it.
     
  7. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
  8. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    please help me i really have no idea wtf is wrong
     
  9. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    its getting too hot, alot of people are having same problem with the 280s need to get another case fan and stick it right on it and see if it still overheats. I would find a program that checks temp of video to be sure like gpu-z. here ~~ http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1363/mirrors.php
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,380 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try using the Evga Precision Tool or some other software to clock it down and turn up the fan speed to test it.
     
  11. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    okay it reckens i have 50 degrees at idle
     
  12. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    Load Temp in game?

    tried taking the card out and putting it back in?

    Reset you bios to dafaults?

    also try driver cleaner and remove all nvidia from your system and install newest drivers u have

    hope this helps
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2009
  13. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    Idle temps dont crash you open a game and see what temps go to. ALLEN
     
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,380 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  15. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    problem is steam crashed it and just looking at a photo preview was enough to do it in a few minutes ago
     
  16. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    sounds like a driver problem, uninstall all nvidia drivers and try the ones on the disk you got with your card. I would make sure you have the latest chipset drivers also. Your mother board is intel chipset heres the drivers. http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/sb/CS-026488.htm .
     
  17. karlotta New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    "740 watts. and about 72 amps on 12V",
    what brand is that? 72a must be 18amps on four rails, and 18amps is not really good enough.
     
  18. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    so you recken the psu could be the culprit??
     
  19. Lumpy

    Lumpy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Allen...what is your cards temps under a load?
    I would download riva tuner/evga precssion,also use them to crank up yor cards fan to 100% during gaming.
    And pulling out video card and reinserting does wonders,somtimes.
     
  20. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    i think have tried all of this at one point or another by the way who the hell is allen??
     
  21. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    me:laugh:
     
  22. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    lol so any other ideas cause i am close to throwing it through a wall
     
  23. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    My m8s GTX260 does a simular thing, goes all weird and all over the place in COD4/5 but no other game. Just crashes back to windows. Does yours crash to windows? or reboots the system? and how long does it take b4 it crashes in a game?

    As allen said check the temps under load in a game, if you can, that will rule out temp issue then.

    Your PSU seems fine to me, even tho it my only be 18amp on 1 rail since it most likely has 4 rails it will jump to the next rail and it will then kick in so there is no over load. Like my Corsair HX-620 does < http://www.corsair.com/products/hx/default.aspx

    Also update ya BIOS this also can fix issues with new hardware, but mainly if you are running multi cards (Sli)

    I think its a driver issue to be honest.

    or it could be bad RAM on the card making it crash = faulty card =/
     
  24. Blacksniper87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Rockhampton, Australia
    nah mine doesn't crash to desktop it just goes all these funny colours and as far as the amount of time it takes about 2-3 mins to crash
     
  25. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok so when you mean it doesnt crash to desktop, you have to hit the reset button for it to go away? to get back to ya desktop? or

    Does everything go blocky? and or purple and weird greens on the screen?

    2-3mins hmmm that sorta rules out temp problem then, as thats to quick for it to get to hot to crash realy.

    im still going with drivers mainly, or a faulty card,................... maybe BIOS.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page