1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer Does not Complete Boot.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by binsky3333, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Hi,
    Whenever i start up my computer it runs good for about 30seconds but then very randomly all of my display shuts off and i have to restart. When i restart my display doesn't even come on. Could this be a Video card, motherboard or screen problem.



    Thx
    Specs
    Asus p5n32 e sli
    2 geforce 8800GTS 320MB
    dell e207wfp LCD monitor
  2. cooler

    cooler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    maybe power problem

    what power supply did u use
  3. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Apevia Iceburg 680watt

    BTW
    The whole computers boots up and when the display dies my computer is still running
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,098 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    How long have you been useing your power supply and how many amps does it have. You need to make sure that your two Nvidia Cards are getting the power they need cause if their not then you won't see anything on your screen.:)

    Also maybe your cards are not seated in all the way or some dust acumulation, did you check for simple solution as these.
  5. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    This just started happening about 2 days ago. I took out both of my cards and blew away some dust and then put them back in and still had the same problem. I am assuming that my power supply is 56.6AMPS. I have been using the power supply for about 6months.
  6. cooler

    cooler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    could u boot with one card ?
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    could you fill out your syspecs and make sure when you do you enable the drop down you will find it under usercp
  8. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ok i posted my specs.
    cdawall says thanks.
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Try booting with One GPU card only, if problem re-occurs try the other card.
  10. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ok i will try that. But could it be my motherboard or my monitor.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    thats what we are trying to rule out
  12. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ok
  13. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Now remember, you might have to change some settings in Bios to go from SLI to single card operation.

    :toast:
  14. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok..... So far the first card does not work. Also i have 3 PCI 16x slots should i put the grahics card i am testing in the slot made for not using sli.
  15. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    2nd one works like a charm boots up 100% normally. Now what do i do contact nvidia for a new card. I bought these cards about 6months ago.
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    you contact the card manuf ie if BFG manuf them contact them
  17. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok thanks!
  18. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    PROBLEM!!!!!!!
    Now both of the cards do not work.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page