1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer hangs/freezes when using single video card in PCIE 2, but works in PCIE1

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by shaykal, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. shaykal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Israel
    Hello all,

    I just built a new rig last week, and when I'm running benchmark for GPU, the computer hangs/freezes and a hard reset must be done. Sometime it hangs while watching a DVD, not even under extreme load.
    My computer specs are:

    Motherboard - Asrock z77 extreme9
    CPU/Processor - Intel core i5 - 3570k 3.4 GHz (I didn't overclock, only ran stock speed).
    Memory - G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL
    Video Card - ASUS ENGTX460 DC TOP/2DI/1GD5/V2 GeForce GTX 460. nVidia driver version is: 301.42
    Operating System - windows 7 enterprise (64 bit) version 6.1 build 7600 (I didn't install any updates or service pack, although this happens with windows service pack 1 as well, I installed fresh copy of windows 4 times this last weekend... :-s )
    Hard Drive - Kingston C300 128GB SSD (operating system is installed here), other Hitachi HDs for storage.
    PSU - Thermaltake Black Widow W0319RU 850W
    Bios version - 1.50

    I connected the video card in PCIE 2 as recommended in the user manual (for single card).

    What I tried so far:
    Ran stress test to the CPU using OCCT 4.3.1 - finished successfully
    Ran stress test to the memory using OCCT 4.3.1 and MemTest - finished successfully.
    Ran stress test to the GPU using OCCT 4.3.1 - sometimes it finished with errors, sometimes it hangs in the middle and sometimes it finished successfully.
    Ran benchmark for GPU using Heaven DX11 Benchmark 3.0 it hangs in the middle.

    When I switched the video card to PCIE 1 the above tests all finished successfully.

    Yesterday I also tried to remove all the unnecessary devices and cables (no network, sound etc.), in the bios I returned to the default settings and tested with only 1 stick of memory and only the SSD connected.
    Again, the same results.
    I then tried with a different stick of memory in a different slot, and still I get the same freeze.
    I also tried with nVidia driver version 296.10 and with windows service pack 1.

    I'm not really sure what else can be done...
    Do you think there is a patch or a different driver version that I should be using in order to fix this?
    Maybe some configuration in the bios?
    Do you think that the motherboard itself could be defective?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Read your motherboard manual closely. Normally it would state when using a single video card configuration the card must occupy the top pcie 16x slot
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  3. shaykal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Israel
    Thanks for your reply.

    I actually did refer to the manual, and it says that for better performance, when using 1 video card, it's best to connect it to PCIE2, that's why I connected it there to begin with, otherwise, I would have just connected to PCIE1 as usual.
     
  4. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Maybe the motherboard is defective. I find no other reason.
     
    shaykal says thanks.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    less if there is a PCI E switching command in BIOS/UEFI

    Ya id recommend a RMA because it states for a single video card, use PCI E 2 which is the second slot from the top, SLI/Crossfire occupy PCI E 1, 3
     
    shaykal says thanks.
  6. shaykal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Israel
    Hi all,

    I just talked to a technical support guy from Asrock and they will replace my motherboard.
    It looks like they also think it's defective.

    Thank you all for trying to help!
    :)
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Well Git 'er done haha.

    Glad we could help.

    Let us Know when you get the new motherboard and results of the install
     
  8. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    You are welcome. :) Let us know of the results :)
     
  9. shaykal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Israel
    Thanks guys, I will!
    :)
     
  10. shaykal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Israel
    Hi all,

    Just a small update.
    I got my motherboard last week.
    This time it looks like everything is working fine.
    I installed the GPU in PCIE2 like Asrock recommends in the manual.
    I did some tests and they all passed.
    I didn’t test the other PCIE lanes since it’s already working. I just hope that in case I need to use other lanes in the future, I won’t have any unpleasant surprises…
    I must say that Asrock support service was really good.
    They say that after they get the defective motherboard, it takes them between 5-7 days to ship the new one.
    They actually shipped the new one 2 days after they got my defective motherboard.
    The only “complaint” I might have is that I had to pay for the shipment.
    I mean, you try to save some money and buy combo deals, with rebate and perhaps some coupon codes, and eventually you pay the difference in the mail… and it is one of their more expensive motherboards…
    Anyway, at least I got what I wanted – a working motherboard
    :)
    Thank you all for trying to help
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,968 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Location:
    Mysore
    Asrock has risen up. Better than Asus imo.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page