1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer hangs on Windows Logo, help!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hooj, May 27, 2012.

  1. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    As title when loading my computer it freezes on the windows logo. I am using Windows XP SP2 OR maybe SP3, can't remember.:laugh:

    Now i can't get into Safe Mode because that hangs on BMLoad.sys.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    That's the problem.


    Jokes aside try unplugging all peripherals and reboot.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  3. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Unplugging all the peripherals didn't work.:banghead:
     
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Windows repair?
     
    hooj says thanks.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    Might try to do a repair installation with the XP disk?
     
    hooj says thanks.
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    "First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious"

    In what way?


    Hold down F5 as the computer boots to enter safemode. If that doesnt work hold down F8 and as the computer boots and manually select safemode.

    If you manage to enter safemode go to Start > Run > MSCONFIG > Startup and untick everything. Then restart your computer.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  7. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I don't seem to have a windows repair disk.
     
  8. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    When i first stuck my mobo in my case i forgot to put the spacers underneath. Had to take it all out again, took me ages.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    According to google it's malware. Reinstalling your machine wouldn't be a bad idea. Since it's not required for your PC to function you could boot from whatever disk you have and delete the file. Instead of crashing your system it might just fail to load.
     
    FordGT90Concept and hooj say thanks.
  10. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks i hope that works.
     
  11. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Well i managed to get past the Windows Logo and an automatic check disk started so i'm just waiting that out. Cheers for the help.
     
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Oregon
    Get Window 7 64 bit
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    I did the same thing on my first build over a decade ago.

    When you become experienced it becomes second nature and you don't make those silly mistakes anymore.

    I agree.

    With Windows Vista and Windows 7, you don't have to deal with Windows corrupting. It's almost self fixes itself. To the OP, there is no point having the latest and greatest i5 processor if you are still have 1 foot in the last century with XP.
     
  14. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I disagree, Windows vista and 7 get corrupted just as easily. They removed repair install though so it's a bitch to fix when it happens. sfc often doesn't cut it.
     
  15. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Admittedly, ive had windows 7 corrupt a few times. Fixing it took less than 10mins. It was always a matter of running start up recovery.

    Just for the fact that developers are washing their hands with driver support, and general software support is enough of a reason to drop XP. IMO the interface looks uninspiring and the OS feels so slow nomatter how much RAM you drop in.
     
  16. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    OK, i tried repairing using the Windows Disk and i still hang at the windows logo screen...good news is that i can get back in on safe mode. Might be a good time to back up all the stuff i need and reinstall. Although i don't want to have to do that.
     
  17. mrsdnf

    mrsdnf

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Can you do a system restore to a earlier date from safe mode to see if this resolves your problem? Before you do anything though backup what you do not want to lose.
     
  18. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Tried that and it still doesn't work. Could it be something to do with my VGA card, cable and Monitor?
     
  19. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Excellent.

    Back up all crucial fails and then do as I sugguested in safemode . Run > MSGCONFIG > Startup > UNTICK ALL.

    Also try Start > Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance > Administrative tools and disable any applications that look suspicious or are not part of Windows default.

    If there is an application or virus that is stopping your PC from booting this should deactivate it. Run run Spybot and your Anti-virus software in safemode, then again once you are able to boot back into normal windows.

    In the meantime really look into Windows 7.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  20. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I was having monitor troubles yesterday when my monitor kept going into power saving mode and now it freezes on the logo screen. I'll try reseating my gpu or something...
     
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Issue might be video card driver related. Whilst in safe mode uninstall everything Nvidia related. Then see if it boots into normal windows.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  22. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Tried to uninstall the nvidia driver etc and as the uninstaller came up, my computer crashed.

    Update: My computer has randomly started working again...what on Earth is happening? After another Restart btw...
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  23. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    So far so good it's still working. I have no idea how touch wood and thanks again.
     
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vista has too many updates. I never had an issue with 7, never
     
    acerace says thanks.
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Depends when you get the distribution. A lot of the time an operating system will be patched up to a certain level already, thus minimising the need for as many additional updates.

    For example, if you bought Vista at launch, you will have many updates + service packs.

    If you bought Vista now. It will be already service packed and updated to the latest version.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page