1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer is locking leaving standby...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by niko084, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Out of the blue one of my systems started locking up resuming from standby, not hibernation.

    Anyways it didn't do it before and now its locking up so hard that holding the power button doesn't work, and to even get it to start again I have to pull the cmos battery out and put it back in.

    Not sure whats going on here, but its driving me nuts!

    Any ideas?
    *Besides the obvious turn off standby*
    System-
    Asus P5Ld2
    E6420
    *Mainboard might be bad somewhere?*

    I also turned off ALL thermal control and the voltage is a nice steady 1.3 so its not a lack of power. Power supply checks all good and is more than plenty large enough for the system.
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Ram might have gone bad, can you get it going at all, look in error logs.
    How long did you wait before resetting first time, maybe it was trying to continue an app or something.
    I suppose no Beeps?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2007
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    All apps were closed...

    I forgot to check error logs... Duh... Thanks I'll take a look and run a test on ram..

    And ya bios says everything is good.
     
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Like Namslas said, I would probably start with the ram, considering you have 4 sticks label them 1 - 4 with tape and test them 1 at a time....

    If they are all good then go 2 at a time.

    Other than that have you got your raptors in a Raid.... you may have problems there somewhere with a driver or your raid controller...

    Start with the ram though to eliminate it, its the easiest part to test...

    And yeah, I would be surprised if it was your psu, seasonic make rock solid supplies..
     
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    This is not the system in my specs....

    I think something is wrong with my mainboard or cmos...

    Processor runs great, ram tested fine, hard drives are not in raid and are good....
    But I have just now even had it lock up in cmos setup 2 times. Northbridge seems a little warmer than usual but everything is set normal. I'm on that machine now... I am really lost here in whats going on.
     
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Now its half locked again... I don't get it... My start bar wont show up.. I can't open anything but this browser is still working fine..
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Something is wrong with the chipset or voltage regs, the chipset is getting so hot it burnt my finger and blistered it by touching the heatsink, voltages for it were never changed.

    RMA'd.
     
  8. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does it work in linux?

    Windows standby/low power support has always been poor.

    And its even worse in vista.
     
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    No wont even boot, locked up on me in cmos, and the chipset heatsink got so friggen hot it put a blister on my thump nearly on contact...

    Really funny, psu's voltages are perfect, no burning smell, and I checked the thermal paste, its all good.... Got the RMA today, I'll ship it out tomorrow. Probably just going to replace the board and have the new one when it comes laying around.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page