1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer is rebooting itself.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hat, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,883 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Title says it all. It's my main system in specs, the one with the i7. It doesn't BSOD or anything, it just reboots itself. I've never actually seen this happen, but I can tell from some of the icons in my system tray being different, and I verified it by looking through event viewer.

    Not sure what's to blame here. Could be the power supply I guess, it is getting rather old, and it is only a 550w model. Temps are fine, right now I'm at 72c load. Could also be something going unstable I suppose, I'll run some tests later. Maybe I need more cpu voltage?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,685 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    Shut off automatic restart in the advance start up and recovery. Even though you said the event viewer reported no BSOD

    You sure it wasn't all the new Windows updates
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,883 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, automatic updates is turned off, and event viewer says something about Windows not shutting down correctly. There's no BSOD, or there would be a window on the desktop saying there was a BSOD and giving me the error code and such. It seems to just reboot itself. I've never seen it do it while I was using it, though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    austria
    in your sysspecs you got 2 diff systems so no prob for you to swap out the ram or powersupply for quick tests.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,883 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Beginning to suspect memory maybe? I raised the CPU volts, up from 1.175 to 1.8125, and I got another BSOD last night. When it restarted I tried to launch Steam and it crashed as soon as I tried to start it. I tried again, same thing. I rebooted and Steam did launch on the first try.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    It's been a while, but I think 1.8125 is a lot too high for a 920.

    Max vcore is around 1.4 or maybe 1.5 on real good cooling.

    Or did you mean 1.1825?

    If you are running it at 3.8, then you will need to increase vcore, just not that high.
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,889 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,463
    Whats the event log say Hat?
    95Viper says thanks.
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Memtest and a multimeter will take you a long ways here :)

    Oh and... http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
    Wonderful little app that can make life easier.

    Of course killing your overclock and starting that over from stock would help alleviate an instability issue.
    95Viper says thanks.
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Time to crack that system open...

    Save your bios settings, then set the bios to default and test.

    If, it still re-starts, then...
    Dis-connect any unneeded external devices.
    Check all your power and device connections (power cables, SATA cables, etc.).
    Check the memory and drives for errors/failing parts.

    Still a problem... try swapping out the PSU and other parts. like memory, dvd, keyboard, mouse, etc.
    Check the power and reset buttons on the case.

    You have gotten a few good postings here.
    Me, personally, I am leaning toward some power problem, since you a not getting a blue screen.
    Like MM said, check the event viewer. That should at least let you know what was happening before the re-start.
    When it restarts does windows notify you in anyway, like asking, if you wish to boot to safe mode or a pop-up stating windows restarted unexpectedly?

    EDIT: Oh... and, as always, run a good virus scan and malware scan, for the heck of it.
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Could be one of 2 things PSU is going out (My first thought) or your RAM is going out. But since there is no BSOD I would have to think this is a PSU issue.
    95Viper says thanks.
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,889 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,463
    I had a bad AMD driver do this EXACT thing to me before. No doubt this could be hardware related. But I personally always like to see what the crash is before gutting the system, running memtest or anything like that. MOST problems are software related.

    Hell I had NVIDIA drivers cash on me because the auto-update didn't have the valid password to access to NIVIDIA servers when they got hacked. Had dudes telling me GPU was going out. :laugh:

    Not saying its hardware mind ya. Just make sure.....no POSITIVE its not software first.

    Not all BSOD throw a BSOD belive it or not.
    Derek12 and 95Viper say thanks.
  12. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Very true, I had "Black" BSOD, "No signal" BSOD, "random color" BSOD and "Multicolored/artifact" BSOD. Not all BSODS appear, but they give dumps. Just see them In C:\Windows\minidump or use BSOD viewer for detailed view.

    Hmmm PSU can cause BSOD if bad voltages. Also, bad memory or some other failure could cause a unexpected reboot w/o BSOD


    Try a LiveCD of Ubuntu and see if reboots there, that would narrow down the problem to software/hardware
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,883 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, not 1.8125, 1.18125v. Still happening, raised it a little more. Memtest did 2 full passes clean, so I'm thinking the cpu is degrading a little. Going to try running it with the higher voltage and see what happens. It may be time to test the PSU...

    Don't think it's a software or driver issues, this is practically a new install and I haven't changed any drivers since I installed Windows.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Nope if you up the voltage and still crashes I wouldn'think it's the CPU... Because upping voltage normally fix at least temporarily a degrading component... Maybe the mobo, PSU or hard drive if you discard a software issue... Besides CPUs rarely fail and often Memtest would fail even if mem is fine
    Why don't you try a CPU stress test like prime95 OCCT or linpack and see if fails/reboot straight up
    Also did you try to underclock it
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,049 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
  16. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I forgot, You've got a BSOD, besides the reboots, right then try this, it will give useful info about each BSOD (module, driver, error code, etc) you received if you didn't saw it and if Windows created a dump which is very likely.
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,049 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    another site

    http://www.aumha.org/a/stop.htm
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,962 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,340
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hat, I would try a different power supply man. As long as you have the second one to give it a try. I know it will be shutting two crunching rigs down at once, but that may tell you whats going on.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. RacingKen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central Ca.
    Psu

    I had this problen a few years ago, and it turned out to be a dying PSU. It can also be a PSU plug not fully inserted.

    Ken
  20. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,962 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,340
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yep on both counts.

    Also WELCOME to TPU Ken. :toast::toast::toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,883 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am running 3.8GHz with then 1.175v, which seemed quite low for that speed, but it was stable. Now that I'm at 1.1825, I haven't seen it crash yet. Either the CPU is degrading or the PSU is not able to do it anymore. If it keeps happening I'll take a look at the PSU, but all seems well now. As an intermittent problem it's hard to tell though...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    WOW yeah that is a bit low Mine runs at 1.3v I know it is not the same as your CPU but still not that far off the mark. If it has stopped then the problem would have to be the voltage. I do not know enough about the i7's but it would seem to me that running it a 3.8 or even 4.0GHz the CPU would need more than 1.175 volts. Oh and as far as your CPU starting to degrade, I would have say NOT at all. The CPU should last for 10-20 years! Hell there are some out there that are 20 years old still going strong. I doubt that the CPU is degrading.
  23. RacingKen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central Ca.
    Thanks Stinger!
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    A belated WELCOME TO TPU to you! :twitch:
  25. RacingKen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Central Ca.
    Thank you trickson
    trickson says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page