1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer--->(old) TV

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by Sahrum, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. Sahrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dear users,

    I want to connect my pc to a friend's tv, which is pretty old.

    I does not have HDMI input, only component audio/video (which he uses for his Wii).

    There are cheap cables which are DVI-component.
    example:
    http://www.4u-tech.nl/index.php?action=article&aid=48827

    Will they work?
    i know that the DVI won't send audio, but that is not needed because i can directly connect the audio cable to the speakers.
    But the componenent is analog, and the dvi is digital. won't i need an expensive transformer to make this work?

    Thank you for at least reading this, i hope it's a very stupid, question with an easy answer:)
     
  2. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Hello there,

    The cable you linked is intended for some of the first HD TVs to be released - they required a 6pin connecter (Red, Blue, Green and the common red, white and yellow) instead of a HDMI connection. I have had a look around for a VGA to component cable but to no avail. I would have thought that it is possible as VGA is an analog signal and doesn't require power.
     
  3. Sahrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey thank you for the response!

    I bought this cable:
    http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B000P3UB24/?tag=tec053-21

    But all i get on the tv is static.
    I tried many resolutions, but all i get is static.
    The strange thing is that it is not a "normal"static, but one that changes a bit, for example when i put my mouse somewhere the static gets a bit more grey.

    I only used the yellow cable, do you guys think that the s-video will be better?
    The Tv is not HD, can it be that the lowest resolution of the computer is not low enough for the tv?
     
  4. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    S-video is higher quality than the yellow (composite) cable...
     
  5. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    842 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)

    I assume you are using your HD6950, if so, them the outputs of that card are digital, the cable you bought is RCA which is an analog signal, it won't work. I think both AMD/ATI and Nvidia dropped support for RCA and S-video. You may want to buy a VGA box, or whatever is the correct name.

    If you look the specs of the HD6000, there is no indication of RCA, S-video, etc support. But in the HD4000 there is

    HD6000 http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk...6950/Pages/amd-radeon-hd-6950-overview.aspx#2



    DisplayPort 1.2
    Max resolution: 2560x1600 per display
    Multi-Stream Transport
    21.6 Gbps bandwidth
    High bit-rate audio
    HDMI® (With 3D, Deep Color and x.v.Color™)
    Max resolution: 1920x1200
    Dual-link DVI with HDCP
    Max resolution: 2560x1600
    VGA
    Max resolution: 2048x1536


    HD4000 http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk.../Pages/ati-radeon-hd-4870-specifications.aspx

    Integrated AMD Xilleon™ HDTV encoder

    Provides high quality analog TV output (component/S-video/composite)
    Supports SDTV and HDTV resolutions
    Underscan and overscan compensation
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page