1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer randomly freezing all the time

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Striatum, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. Striatum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I've recently been having problems with my system where it keeps randomly freezing, and I was hoping someone here might be able to help me out.

    Typically, I can use my computer fine for a day or two, then at some point, completely at random, my system freezes and I'm unable to do anything else. I get no error message or BSOD: I just get a frozen image on my screen and looping audio from the past second or so.

    My system won't reboot after this happens: if I try restarting then it goes into an infinite loop of powering up for a couple of seconds (lights appear on the case and fans start up) followed by shutting itself down and then trying to power up again, etc. The only way to fix this is to open up my case and clear the CMOS, where upon booting I get an error message in the BIOS that overclocking failed and all my settings have been reset to default (even though I never overclock my computer). After this I've got a couple of days before this happens all over again.

    I'm pretty sure I can rule out all my other parts, since I've connected everything else to an old motherboard and CPU I have (which runs fine).

    I would really appreciate any help on this matter - I'm hoping that I can simply replace whatever faulty component I have to save cash.

    Thanks
     
  2. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    System Specs?

    Run a memory diagnostic such as memtest.

    Also test hard drive with the manufactures utility, then check it again in windows with Chkdsk to see if there are any corrupted files.

    Make sure all drivers are up to date.

    If the hard drive, memory and drivers can be ruled out then you have to start looking at power supply, motherboard and CPU in that order.
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Do you have an ASUS motherboard? My P9X79 Deluxe will do this if the memory timing and speeds aren't stable. I would try resetting your BIOS and removing any OC. If it still happens I would try under-clocking the memory and relaxing the timings to see if that helps at all.
     
  4. Striatum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My spec:


    Case: Fractal Design Define R3
    Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD53 (B3)
    CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
    Cooling: Gelid Tranquillo Rev.2
    RAM: G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
    Graphics Card: 1GB Asus HD 5870
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Hard Disk: 256GB Samsung 830 Series SSD
    Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S223B/BEBE
    PSU: Corsair 650W 650HXUK 80 PLUS

    I've run memtest which gave no errors for my RAM. I also made sure that all my drivers were updated, although that didn't stop the freezing.

    I haven't run a check on my hard drive - although I'm not sure if that could be the issue since I've currently got it connected to a different motherboard/CPU with no problems. I had to reformat it to reinstall windows 7, so perhaps that might have fixed something? I'm also using the same PSU with a different motherboard/CPU with no issues.
     
  5. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I would still run a test on that hard drive to be sure before you spend the money to replace the motherboard which is what I think may be your problem.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  6. Striatum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't overclocked my system at all, so it seems odd that I would be forced to underclock my RAM when they are at default settings. I've also checked my CPU using Core Temp and all the temperatures were normal.
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1: Test the HDD first, then under-clock memory (make sure it's running at the right voltage as well.) I don't think this is the motherboard but I could be wrong. It seriously sounds like something is becoming unstable for one reason or another.

    Have you tried running any stress tests to confirm CPU/Memory stability? I would do this as well before adjusting memory clocks, timings, or voltages.
    Your motherboard could have detected the voltage or timings incorrectly.
    Is this your memory? G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...

    If so, is it running at 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24-2T @ 1.5v?
     
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Before you run memtest and test the HDD which to be frank, is not where to start.


    You need to see what the temps are on the CPU and GPU. Aquinas, quit editing your reply.
     
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Reset the cmos and run prime95 for 15 minutes and get back to us if it crashes and look at the temps.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's better than double posting, which is against the rules. :shadedshu
     
    95Viper and animal007uk say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page