1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer randomly has black screen and restarts

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    So my computer randomly just switches to a black screen, and the audio is much like that of a BSOD. Once I get back into windows it gives me a debug screen and it simply tells me it was a BSOD. People have been telling me it is a power supply issue, and I just wanted to get a few more oppinions before I spend a fair amount of money on something I really don't need.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Did you check the Error Log?
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  3. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    When my previous PSU failed it behaved much the same way. Error log would show an error code pointing to a kernel error after each blackscreen reboot, event ID 41 I believe.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    you need to disable auto restarts. provide what BSODs youre getting

    reference them to aumha.org too

    Overclocking, Powersupply, Memory are the 3 biggest culprits to BSODs
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  5. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    I had a similar experience before my gpu died. Any driver crashes recently?
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    is it your main system and is it overclocked? ,i found a good way to test if its your PSU failing is to force a low multiplier for your cpu so it runs cool and lean on power and see if its stable over a long time(though it could be intermitantly faulty and dosnt exclude it entirely), while checking your error logs , you have cleaned it out, as overheating can cause this too.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  7. tttony

    tttony

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  8. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Nope, I will in a bit. I'm not home atm
    I'll be sure to post it in a bit
    How would I go about doing that? I get no blue screen, just a black screen and audio is messed up. Only once or twice has windows given me that error pop up. My pc isn't overclocked at all. I do have some very old 667 ram, that could be causing problems.
    I was having some problems with certain games and the 12.8 drivers, but I went back to 12.6 and it works fine.
    Nope, not overclocked at all. By leaning on the power do you mean just upping the voltage on the core? I just cleaned it the other day and it idles around 30c, no where near the max temps.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    sounds like PSU to me.
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,138 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,665
    Taco this could be software also. Before you get all crazy, do as Erocker suggested. Find out the error in the Event Viewer. Look for the faulting module and the error code itself. Also check the reliability monitor. At the bottom it will have "View all Error Reports". Post a screen of whats in there if anything.

    This could be a simple as a bad driver install.

    ALSO have you downloaded or installed anything lately? STAY OUT OF THE DAMN BIOS UNTIL WE KNOW THE ERROR! lol. I know you. Baby steps boy, baby steps.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Okay, sorry for ignoring you guys, but I was able to get this to happen again by running prime 95 and furmark for about 10 mins. Thanks to the help of mailman I was able to find out it was a catalyst error, I'm going to do a fresh install of windows and see if I still have the problems after that. Thanks for all you guys help so far.
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    hopefully it is just that and not a memory error, memory is the next culprit next to a instable overclock.
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,615 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Rochester area
    instable ? wut

    post the memory dumps if you got em or a bluescreen view report
     
  15. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Hey guys, sorry for the lack up updates. It turns out it was my AMD drivers constantly crashing on me. I did a fresh install and its back to normal.
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,615 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Rochester area
    Yeeee thats not good this smells like a hardware fault
     
  17. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Well, with the help of mailman we found the error logs and it was from catalyst
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,615 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Rochester area
    mailman help ......... pffffffffff unpossoi-bl
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    if the video drivers are erroring, usually its the hardware sending the errors to the drivers. that said, sometimes it really is just a software conflict.
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Time for a 7950 :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,929 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Only if you're paying, I have a Z77 board here with no proc, and only $100 to try and find one.
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,138 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,665
    lol noob.

    Sometimes its just crappy AMD drivers.
     
    OneMoar says thanks.
  23. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Glad you got it sorted :)

    What were the error codes in the log?
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    BSODs are a result of bad overclocks besides memory.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page