1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer rebooting for no apparent reason

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ny_driver, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    ABIT AV8 K8T800pro
    athlon64 3500+
    2x1024 supertalent ddr400
    HIS 9600pro family 256mb
    antec 420w PSU
    acer 22" LCD monitor model p224w
    windows xp pro sp3 fully updated

    My moms computer just reboots itself occasionally. Not during any one particular activity, just whenever. She doesn't do anything real graphically intense and doesn't really do much multi-tasking either. Because her old computer also did this rebooting thing, I have suspicions about the monitor. It could also be the PSU, although I replaced that (with a used one) when I built her new rig. I replaced everything except HD, CD-drive, and floppy-drive. I suppose it's possible that the old PSU was faulty, and the new used one is also faulty in the same manner.

    I'd love to hear some other ideas. Thanks.:rockout:
     
  2. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    My first guess would be power supply. Do you have a tester?
     
    ny_driver says thanks.
  3. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    you mean a multimeter? yes.
     
  4. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    You reinstalled the OS?? It could be something like a pci card, dvd drive video card...I would pull each piece of hardware out individually and test til its not happening anymore...Ive also had freezing from keyboards
     
    ny_driver says thanks.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Check the ram stick by stick see if ones dieing ( Some times the BIOS memory diagnostic picks errors up to other wise use memtest). Try another PSU in the system if possible.

    Could also check the HDD for errors too.
     
  6. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    I checked the HD using HDTune, the ram has been memtested. It's gotta be PSU I guess, but very strange how two different computers are doing the same thing with different PSU. Like I said the only things that stayed the same are HD, CD & Floppy drives, and the monitor.
     
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Maybe it's just windows playing ass lol ?. Or even some program she uses ?.. Any chance you have a spare HDD so you can reinstall windows on it and see if it still happens ?..


    Maybe one of MS's drivers been installed for a piece of hardware and messing things up ?. As their drivers do suck too.
     
    ny_driver says thanks.
  8. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    yup I got a spare 40gig HD. Hmmmmm what a pain. That's the thing to do though. Process of elimination. Thanks for the ideas.;)
     
  9. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Might be the CPU overheating, they shut off the comp for safety. If there is alotof dust it will do that especialy if its a stock cooler
     
  10. ny_driver

    ny_driver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    777 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    central new york
    It's all clean and freshly installed with AS5, I don't think I've seen it above 40c. My mom doesn't do anything to stress the cpu anyways other than some puzzle games, and scrabble.:rockout:
    EDIT: I'm going to go test the PSU now.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page