1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer Restarts Before Windows Fully Starts

Discussion in 'General Software' started by delnaci, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. delnaci New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello. Whenever I turn on my computer, I am able to get to the "Welcome" screen before my computer reboots.

    I was able to fix this by going into boot menu and have the floppy drive load first.

    The thing is, my boot priorities are as follows:

    1. Floppy Drive
    2. CD-Drive
    3. Hard Drive
    4. Network

    I would like to find out how to fix this without having to go into boot menu every single time.


    Thank you.
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Normally when I cant load Window its usually because I dont have enough voltage to the cpu. Whats your VCore?

    When you can load your OS have you stress tested it to see if it's stable? Proally want to test w/OCCT to see if you are stable and for a good 2+ hours.
    delnaci says thanks.
  3. delnaci New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You bring up a very good point. I believe the culprit is the "Easy Energy Saver" that came with my motherboard drivers. (It basically lowers your voltage to save energy.) I would shut down my computer with it running; that's probably why.
  4. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    its either cpu or mem issue!

    an instant reboot after the welcome screen means your pc is unstable....

    go to bios...
    1. raise vcore by a notch
    2. set memory values to their specs, manually

    if the problem persists then try step 1. again till it runs OK.

    After you get a normal start up...as mlee49 says...test your stability in terms of CPU.
    and when you are certain the you are stable, go back to bios and start messing with the memory settings, testing for stability every time you change anything, untill you get the max out of them while stable!
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    undo your overclock.

    Make sure your memory is manually set to its default voltage (2.0v and 2.1v are common these days)

    Other than that, is there any error message, or other information you think may be relevant?
  6. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I had this issue, for me i think it was a memory timing problem.
  7. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    i would try and get a memtest iso and run that because i would start by testing the ram too.
  8. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    That happened to me 2 years ago and it was a crappy Maxtor HDD so i changed the HDD and the PC is working even now
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    actually, have you tested in safe mode? could be a software conflict
  10. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    would he get a message if that was the case?:confused:
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    no. i installed netlimiter 2 onto 7 for example, and it would BSOD and reboot right before the logon screen. could be something similar.
  12. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    It could....:(
    you got BSOD, he did not. that is what i mean..."message"...

    BSOD gives you a clue of the kind of soft or hardware problem.... Sudden reboot, IMHO, is 9/10 a stability issue - Not a problem!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page