1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer Shuts down During Boot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by anticlutch, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    I've just built a computer for a friend and we ran into a problem while building it. On the motherboard (MSI 975X Platinum V.2 LGA 775 ) there is a 8-pin power thing to the left of the CPU (I can't think of what it's called but I know what it does). The case's stock power supply only had a 4 pin plug, so I put that in and plugged everything else up and then tried to power up the computer. However, when it turned on, it would only stay on for about 5-10 seconds before shutting off without any beeps or anything. After shutting down, it would stay off for about 5 seconds then power up again, and it would then repeat the process. My first thought was that it wouldn't boot because of the missing 4 pin power supply, but I wanted to turn to the knowledgable people of this forum to give me a second opinion :D

    In a nutshell: If the motherboard has a 8-pin power plug but only 4 of them are connected, will it cause problems?

    The other stuff in his rig just in case you guys need to know:
    RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
    MSI 975X Platinum V.2 LGA 775
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3250824AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
    MSI RX1950PRO 256mb / a Zalman VF900 fan

    Any help will be appreciated :D
     
  2. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    624 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Only using a 4-pin power supply shouldn't be a issue, unless you plan to overclock.

    Your motherboard manual should show you a diagram of the 8-pin socket and show you which pins to use with the 4-pin connector. If you don't have the manual, you can download it from MSI's website.

    Which power supply are you using??
     
  3. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    But the thing is, the manual doesn't mention anything about support for only 4 pins... it just gives me a diagram of the 24pin power connection, the 8-pin, and another molex for the video card...
     
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    The 4 pin connector should only plug into the 8 pin connector 1 way, all the small sockets should be "keyed". Don't force it though!!!

    Judging by your specs though you are building a fairly power hungry system so a good PSU will be needed. I would suggest getting one with a 8pin EPS connector... The board has one and it must be there for a reason :) . Although it will work with only a four pin connector.
     
  5. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Well I didn't try to force anything in so I'm pretty sure nothing was damaged... could there be another reason why the computer won't even post? The case comes with a 500w power supply (so probably 450w at best) so I think that should be okay for a while... would a 6-pin to 8-pin converter work?
     
  6. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    What exactly is the model of the power supply? It might be 450 watt and still have low amperage, or it might just be bad. Restarting at boot sounds like a classic example of a bad power supply

    Please remember to create better thread titles.
    Forum Guidelines
     
  7. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    It's a Raidmax powersupply rated at 500w (the amps were ok... I can't remember but it was around 18-20 amps on the 12v).
     
  8. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Is it dual rail or single rail? If it's single rail then 18-20 amps might be kind of on the low side for such a power hungry system. Raidmax isn't the greatest quality to begin with, you might just have a bad power supply even if it does have enough watts, amps, etc. Plug your PSU into his computer and see what happens.
     
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    According to the MSI website that motherboard has known problems with standard Bios settings and memory. It has a specific list of compatable memory ,and G. Skill is not on the list. Your memory may be your problem.
     
  10. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Aw man... I'll try to use my spare PSU on his computer (hopefully it'll work).

    I really hope that the memory isn't the problem though, since RMA'ing through Newegg will take a few days :(

    Thanks for all your help guys :D

    edit for Polaris: I think it's a dual rail PSU...
     
  11. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    624 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    No... the 6-pin power connector is not the same as the 4 or 8-pin. Do not plug the 6-pin in the EPS connector.

    I also agree with the other posts, I would purchase a new power supply, at least 600 watts and make sure it has the 8-pin 12V EPS connector.
     
  12. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    PSU/power/wattages have nothing to with this.

    The cause of this problem is incompatible or dead hardware, most likely a dead motherboard.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page