1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer stuck at MB screen boot

Discussion in 'General Software' started by JanJan, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    My computer is refusing to boot. Most of the time it would stuck at the MB screen where you would press a button to enter bios. Other time it would get pass that point and go to the windows logo loading then restart itself.

    Note: i can enter bios most of the time. my keyboard would register command at MB screen but wouldnt register when i try to choose between dual boot win 7 or ubuntu. sometimes it would be able to go into the windows recovery (cant recover) and restart the loop

    I'm thinking it's a power supply or RAM problem...?

    additional info: before this happen my computer wont boot at all. i have to remove the speaker and 1 fan for it to boot. if i leave those on, there would be a 1 second long beep and screen stay dark. thank you for any help
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Is it OCed?
     
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I would drop any overclocks back to stock and test the RAM first.
     
  4. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    i droped all the OC but it's still the same. i updated my post. im very inclined it's a psu problem
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Test it and see. The PSU could very well be the issue.
     
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    Does it stop after the memory tests? Could be a DMI thing.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    you say you can get to bios, so disable the splash screen and see exactly what the boot is freezing on.
     
  8. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    what's the memory test? i orginally have a set of RAM but 1 die and the current one before this problem occur i sometime have to move it between the slots for computer to work
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Is your RAM on the qualified vendor list? That doesn't seem right at all. Maybe your MB is going out.
     
  10. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    memtest86 to test RAM and sound's like you got bad RAM or a bad RAM slot on the MOBO :(
     
  11. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    yea the RAM been working for about 2 years. looks like it's either ram, psu, or MB. may be i should just build a new one...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page