1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer Will Not POST

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Wyldefyre2002, Nov 6, 2007.

1. Wyldefyre2002 New Member

Thanks Received:
    This is my first build, and it's been nothing but headaches! My project log is here for anyone interested, also with parts list. Anyway, I received my new Crucial ram today that was "compatible" with my motherboard, and I'm still having the same problem that I had before with the A-Data. I've had the the power supply, processor, and ram all checked, and I've already RMA'd the motherboard once, and I'm still having the same problem. Every time I turn it on, it comes on for just a second, no picture on the screen, then reboots and just sits there, no post, no video out. I thought maybe since the board has onboard vga and dvi, the default was dvi, and my vga monitor just wasn't getting a signal, but that still wouldn't explain the quick reboot. There's no speaker header on the board, so I can't get any beeps. I don't know what to do. Any suggestions?
  2. ccleorina

ccleorina New Member

Thanks Received:
    Can u tell us what your parts u using?:rockout:
  3. nflesher87

nflesher87 Staff

Thanks Received:
    so you can even manage to make it into the BIOS?
  4. erocker

erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Have you tried hitting delete continuously when booting to get into your bios? Is your RAM in the right slots? Vid. card in the correct PCI express slot?
  5. Wyldefyre2002 New Member

Thanks Received:
  6. nflesher87

nflesher87 Staff

Thanks Received:
    it sounds to me like the mobo at default is either not providing enough voltage to the memory or at default lowering the timings too low on the memory to allow POST...

btw, have you tried booting with just the bare minimum hooked up? I have a funny suspicion about that dvd burner being hooked up via ATAPI to SATA converter...