1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer wont boot after installing graphics card

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pbr187, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i recently bought a new computer with 8 gb ram 750 gb hard drive and quad core processor had a crapy onboard graphics card so i bought a radeon hd 4850 x2 graphics card and a 650 watt power supply the power supply works fine with my 512 mb video card i had in my old computer or with onboard video so im not sure if i dont have enough power or what but new egg says i need 650 watt and ati says i need 450 watt so either way that should be taken care of but anyways after installing the graphics card it wont even boot or anything says something about disk failure but if i take the graphics card out it works just fine i was wondering if anyone knew how to fix this.
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Disk failure? Interesting... So It doesn't boot at all, or does it make some beeps, do you have access to the BIOS screen?

    Also silly question: Have you connected the GPU to the PSU?
     
    Pbr187 says thanks.
  3. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i do have access to the bios
    and yes i connected the graphics card to the psu it has two places it has to connect for it to run a 6 pin and an 8 pin
     
  4. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Have you disabled onboard graphics in BIOS? Maybe thats what causes the error.
     
  5. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i tried disabling onboard graphics in bios when i installed and the only option i have is to make pci e the main video adapter
     
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yeah try that.
     
  7. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tried that and i just tried installing all the driver software before installing the graphics card and it still didnt work i guess im gona have to get in contact with ati friday to see what they think
     
  8. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Did you uninstall any previous drivers before putting in the new card? Try booting from HDD and all that crap...
     
    Pbr187 says thanks.
  9. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i did uninstall all the previous drivers but i dont know what you mean by booting from the hdd
     
  10. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    On startup do you slecte the boot device in BIOS as the harddrive?
     
  11. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes
     
  12. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,507 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Yeah just making sure :D
     
  13. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i finaly got the chance to call ati on a weekday when there actualy apen... lame lol all they told me was that it shouldnt do that when you uninstall it and to tell newegg it was dead on arrival to get my money back lol so i traded it in for the geforce 285 installed into my comp right away and works great lol
     
  14. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    hope that didnt turn you off the 4850x2. a gtx 285 could do that as well. But they're both nice cards and have benefits in different areas. Definately sounds like it was DOA.
     
    Pbr187 says thanks.
  15. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    It just sounds like your boot order got mixed up! happens sometimes for me, when im changing cpu or gfx card!
     
    Pbr187 says thanks.
  16. Pbr187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it didnt really turn me off the card the reason why i switched to the gtx 285 was because they had it instock at best buy lol i was tired of waiting for my graphics card
     
  17. offycakes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Maybe it is saying disk failure because you have insufficient power to power the system. On the 4850x2 box it says the minimum power supply you can use is a 650watt and that's probably assuming it's a good one. I am having my fair share of 4850x2 problems as well, but for entirely different reasons.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page