1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer won't boot (BFG GeForce 7800GSOC)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by khysanth, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. khysanth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone - first time poster here.

    My roommate and my girlfriend both put BFG Tech GeForce 7800GSOC VC's in their systems and have been having some weird problems.

    My roommates computer will simply lock up at times, but most of the time he has to reboot his computer 7-8 times before he get's the *beep* noise and his monitor leaves standby mode.

    My girlfriend's computer doesn't have the locking up problem, but occasionally when she boots up, the *beep* noise won't happen and the monitor will remain on standby (and no power will go to the mouse etc.).

    It's really a minor annoyance for her, but for my roommate it is a huge problem. There isn't a lot of information about this that I can find, so I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on the problem.

    We already got new PSUs for them which supply the necessary power that the card requires, and even tried flashing my roommates mobo in hopes that it would solve his problem.

    Thanks for any and all information!
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Even if they are new, what model are they?
  3. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    and what a the specs of the computers
  4. khysanth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. khysanth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    RMA, the graphics card is probably a dud.

    EDIT: Actually, the PSU is the culpruit becuase if the other GPUs work fine, its not the card at fault, its the fact that the PSUs are too weak. I don't think Scythe classifies as a mid or high tier brand anyway. Get the point? 450W is the absolute minimum, dont rely on a brand thats not really focused on PSUs.
  7. lpfreak

    lpfreak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    i had the same issue aswell, monitor won't leave standby, and after i got a new psu, it all worked fine.
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Solid proof :roll: Something like a cooler master igreen 600W/antec 550W Neo HE would work well with those GPUs, Scythe is a low tier.
  9. khysanth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    May I ask what PSU you picked up?
  10. lpfreak

    lpfreak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    i had a generic 500w and got a new antec neohe 550. shown on my system specs

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page