1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer Wont Boot BSODS after GUI Boot,

Discussion in 'Storage' started by arekieh, May 28, 2008.

  1. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hi, im new to this forum but i need some help.

    I installed all the vista updates, computer restarted, and it was at the "configuring updates" screen, i went and took a shower, came back and the screen was black and stood liek that for 5 minutes, so i restarted. AFter the restart it posted the green lines loading thingie came up than BSOD'd and closed, happened 3 times, happen when i tried going into safemode, even happened when i tried booting from the Vista x64 disc. Then just now i hooked it up to my brothers computer, my harddrives that is, so i could recover my files than freshinstall. When they were hooked up my brothers computer would BSOD too, even though i was booting off of his RAID array......
    How can i get my files off the discs and clear them so i can fresh install?
    ANy help would be much appreciated

    P.S. I also tried changing my boot screen which worked when i restarted my computer after, but i dunno if it can affect anything
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,516 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,040
    download UBCD and burn it to CD...boot it and use the appropriate HDD app to wipe it all to zeros.

    Also I believe windows setup will allow you to wipe the partition prior to install, but I cant say it is as thorough.
    arekieh says thanks.
  3. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Thanks for the info on how to clear the drive, but i was wondering more if theres a way i can save my files??
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    Have you tried using the Vista DVD to fix it. It most cases this will fix it.
    arekieh says thanks.
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    How old is the HDD from reading your above I would say it'''''''s F'ked ...what make of drive is it ...
    if you put it back in the rig it came out of can you boot the rig from a floppy or usb key????
    arekieh says thanks.
  6. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Nope, As i said, i couldnt boot from the vista disk, im currently downloading the Vista Recovery Tool Disk to try that, im also currently posting off the the Linux Live CD on my screwed up pc. The Drives are 4 month old Seagate 250G 7200.10 SATAII's.

    Something i dont think i said is i tried installing a new bootscreen.... could that have done anything?

    Also, anyone know how to recover my files through Linux?
    Im downloading this and about to try it:
    http://lifehacker.com/software/disk-recovery/geek-to-live--rescue-files-with-a-boot-cd-192982.php
  7. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    I know it won't booot from the CD but can you boot for a usb/floopy disk that has boot file on it
    arekieh says thanks.
  8. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    can you supply 'sys specs 'so we can see what we have to work with
    arekieh says thanks.
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    if you can get it to boot you can use ' seatools for DOS' from seagate to have a look at the drive
    arekieh says thanks.
  10. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Sys Specs:
    CPU
    e6750 @ 3.9ghz @ 1.5v

    Motherboard
    MSI P35 Neo2 FR

    Memory
    Patriot 800mhz @ 1000mhz 4-4-4-12

    Graphics Card
    Sapphire Radeon HD 3870

    Hard Drive
    2x250G Seagate (RAID 0)

    Power Supply
    OCZ GameXtream 700W

    Case
    Antec P182

    CPU cooling
    Ultra 120 Extreme

    OS
    Vista Ultimate x64

    Monitor
    Samsung Syncmaster 21.6"

    how do i boot from usb?? i dont have a floppy, and what do i boot from USB?
  11. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    arekieh says thanks.
  12. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    and what files do i put on it?
    Isnt that the same as burning a bottable disk?
    Ive tried using Ubunutu, Knoppix, and Windows REcovery, Recovery gives me a BSOD,
    Ubuntu says the NTFS is corrupt, and Knoppix wont boot
  13. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    screw this, im reformating, and ill try recovering my files when its done,
  14. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    wow even gparted isnt working for me now,
    im downloading UDBC right now, and ill try that
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    "Ubuntu says the NTFS is corrupt" OR the update f'k uped the boot array MBR
    IF the files arn't a matter of Life & Death The a rebuild of the array & a Fresh in stall prob the easyist way :(
  16. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Ya, i tried mounting the harddrives in ubuntu to get my files, and it gave me this error:
    "NTFS signature is missing.
    Failed to mount '/dev/sda': Invalid argument
    The device '/dev/sda' doesn't have a valid NTFS.
    Maybe you selected the wrong device? Or the whole disk instead of a
    partition (e.g. /dev/hda, not /dev/hda1)? Or the other way around?"

    the files arent "life or death" but they are pretty important, stuff ive been gather for over a year now... would kinda suck to get everything again. and like over 300G's of Torrents
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,179 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    Noting :
    "Hard Drive 2x250G Seagate (RAID 0)

    even if you get the array to work the data on it is prob lost
  18. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    trure but ill try my best ;) lol
  19. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    wtf, instead of using UDBC i just took off raid through my bios, than clear each HD seperately, and the vista install says there is nothing on the drives.....
  20. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    wow i really am stupid, even vista didnt work,
    i just used the BIOS Ctrl-i utility, and deleted the RAID volume
  21. arekieh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    wow wtf, this is wierd
    the drives are fine,
    i just finished installing and its doing the "preparing to start for the first time" thingie

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page