1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer won't boot but has power

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BigBoi, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    He doesn't have a display problem. Even if the gpu was fragged, his pc would start just fine. However, unless the psu is replaced, it's only a matter of time before he sees smoke coming out...
     
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,961 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    Location:
    Mysore
    not really. acer uses delta PSUS in their stuff.

    i used to drive an athlon 3500+, a 4650 all with a psu rated for just 200W.
    delta electronics is pretty good. but i am not sure what they are using now.


    hey, BIG boi, is the whole config stock? because OEMs will lock the bios to prevent upgrading.
     
  3. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well, if it's not the psu, then it probably IS the motherboard. We"ll just have to wait and see, until he tries a different psu.
     
  4. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    hi guys!
    thanks for all of your time!

    i bought a new psu (corsair) and motherboard (gigabyte) yesterday, and immediately installed everything, sorry i didnt even think about trying to plug the PSU first, as i want to resolve it ASAP lol :laugh:

    everything was installed yesterday, and immediately worked, but the true test was this morning when i fired it up, and it came on immediately! :toast:

    i have one itsy bit of an issue, though,:
    im pretty sure i correctly installed the speaker that came with my chassis, but it doesnt give me a beep sound on post/boot...

    again thank you guys! cheers!

    PS
    in a few months ill be assembling a new rig to replace this old system (but im still keeping it).
    and hope to have the same help if not more from you guys in picking parts...
    :rockout:
     
  5. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    916 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    339
    Either the speaker is NG or you have the wires on the wrong pins. Double check your manual.
     
  6. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Glad your problem's gone, but would be nicer to have known the exact cause of it. Anyway, congrats on your *new* stuff ;)
     
    BigBoi says thanks.
  7. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    what's "NG"? lol
    i'm sure that i have installed it correctly...
     
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,582 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    No Good or Not Good.
     
    BigBoi says thanks.
  9. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    yeah, i know. and i'm sorry. :)

    ...BUT!!!!

    i tried my old PSU first on my friend's computer last weekend just for us to find out,
    and it's working fine.
    also tried my mobo, and does the same thing. so there we have it, the motherboard gve up on me..
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,886 (9.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,372
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My psu at work is doing the same thing. It started on my AMD combo I had and continued with the X58 I have now. If I power the machine all the way down and turn off the PSU power or unplug it then it will almost refuse to turn on with the power button. I have to turn it on and off a couple of times from the PSU to get it to power the motherboard on but since I run this machine as a cruncher (24/7 100% load) its fine with me but if I have to take it apart for repairs or upgrades its a pain to get started again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    See, you wouldn't have to buy the psu if you had tried those ...
     
  12. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    nah, i was going tto either way.
    the old one was old and it wont reach my 24 pin and 8 pin slots.
    old case was top mounted so there you go :)
     
  13. Nabarun

    Nabarun

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    No kidding :laugh:
     
  14. nmrm

    nmrm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Just to let know that I'm in exact same situation as BigBoi was: 4,5 year old Acer Aspire m5711 and the same simptoms apply (vacuum loud fan and computer doesn't startup). The problem is that it only happens sometimes but in my case the power button always lights up.
    I'm willing to do some experiments.
     
  15. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    :toast:
     
  16. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    try to change the motherboard first.
     
  17. nmrm

    nmrm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was hoping for a cost-free experiment.... I'm not paying for a new expensive motherboard without being sure that solves my problem.
     
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,322 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,009
    You can send the board back within 30 days for a full refund if it doesn't work.
     
  19. BigBoi

    BigBoi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    95 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    the only way to do that i think is to find a friend or someone you know that has a G41 or something motherboard, or other parts that is compatible with what you have.
    the reason that i bought new parts for my pc is because i use it everyday and i dont have an extra computer (besides the fact that i love it so much :oops:) and i was pretty sure it was the motherboard.

    if you want, try to change the thermal paste on your CPU. maybe that's the issue
     
  20. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    The first thing you should do is take out the CMOS battery, short the terminals and then attempt to start the system. The next step is to remove all the RAMs and start the system without any RAM installed. You should get a series of beeps(continuous for Award Phoenix BIOS and 3 beeps for AMI BIOS) from the motherboard speaker/speaker via header. If you don't get such beeps, it is definitely the board, CPU or PSU. All the best.
     
  21. nmrm

    nmrm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I replaced the motherboard with a clone a few months ago but it didn't fix. It was not from the motherboard as I saw the symptons again although now it's better, maybe because of the hot weather :confused:
    I notice that unplugging some usb/eth cables on the back of the motherboard helped the computer to successfully boot.
    Any expertise advice? Thx
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,170 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    The psu is at fault
     
  23. nmrm

    nmrm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    why?
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014
  24. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,582 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You need to run some testing on memory, psu, etc.
    Swap parts or try yours in another system...

    Not to be mean; however, you need to start your own thread as it can cause confusion in the thread.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page