1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer won't start up at all

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Peacekeeper, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. Peacekeeper

    Peacekeeper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeh, I made sure to plug in the 4pin one too.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OK, now try the 500W PSU if you can.
  3. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  4. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Do either of the test psu's have a 24pin Main supply?

    If yes, use that.

    The computer was running yesterday fine. The OP installed 32bit OS by mistake and while loading 64bit version machine crashed and won't restart.

    Not saying cpu is not problem but cpu will be last to look at.


    If an old rig is intact, Try the new PSU in that rig.

    Do you know how to use a multimeter? Do you have one?
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I would try the paper clip test first.
  6. Peacekeeper

    Peacekeeper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've tried all different combinations on several PSUs now and all with a same result. I'm pretty sure it's not the PSU. Most likely it's the CPU, even so I'm not entirely sure how to deal with that as it was working find until I tried to reinstall the new OS earlier.

    The cable is built into the box, I doubt it's a manufacturing error unless it's on a larger scale than just mine, though just in case I took some more photos =D

    Motherboard socket


    Note that this one would be flipped horizontally upside-down:

    4+4pins


    EDIT: Unfortunately the old rig isn't intact as I had to steal all the screws from it for the motherboard as well as the SATA cables.

    The 375W PSU has a 24pin power supply plug.


    My dad has a multimeter and would know how to use it if I told him what for.
  7. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Peacekeeper says thanks.
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Peacekeeper says thanks.
  9. Peacekeeper

    Peacekeeper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank you for both the instructional links and the video. I'm going to get some dinner and then test it and make sure to get back to you guys with the results =]
  10. Peacekeeper

    Peacekeeper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Apologese for double post. Tested my PSU and it works - tried the paper clip idea as well as the multimeter.

    Is there any definitive way, other that buying replacements for everything, to determine whethert the motherboard, RAM or CPU may be the culprit?
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I'm gonna go on a limb and say its your mobo. You cant test any of it without another compatible computer. Do you have another computer you can test the RAM in?
  12. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Take motherboard out of case and set on non-conductive surface (heavy cardboard or wood) and try to boot it.

    That's going to take the case and accidental grounding out of the equation.

    Once it's out then you can move on to inspecting cpu, motherboard. Unfortunately your going to have to strip it down.


    Sorry you are having such a hard first time. Just go slowly and don't rush things. Walk away if you are frustrated and come back later.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page