1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computex 2007: DFI LANPARTY X38-T2R Board

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    DFI will be showcasing their LANPARTY X38-T2R board over at Computex next week along with their ATI RD790 based LP RD790-M2R board. Both motherboards are creation of two dedicated and top-notch DFI engineers: Oskar and Jarry. Initially DFI will release Intel X38 chipset based board with support for DDR2 only, because of the highly priced DDR3 modules. Another LANPARTY X38-T3R board that supports DDR3 memories will come later. The DFI LANPARTY X38-T2R/T3R boards also support Core 2 Duo/Quad processors with 1333MHz FSB, two x16 PCIe slots for dual graphics + one x4 slot for GPU physics, 8-Phase Digital PWM and special heatpipe cooling for PWM, MCH and ICH.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2007
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,055
    Enough fan headers to power a fan for every room in the house! These boards are going to be awesome!
     
  3. Sent1nel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dundee
    Now just to picture that with some heatsinks on the north and south bridge... Looking at the way the north bridge has a heat spreader on it, it certainly won't be a small thats for sure.

    Although this thing might be a very nice board for over clocking with its 8 phase digital PWM.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    8 Fan HeADERs? Wow, that is flipping awesome.

    I cant wait to see some benches on these.
     
  5. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    why in gods name do you need 8 fans?! :confused:
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I counted 12 fan headers, but some of those 4 pin ones might be other.

    And why 8 fans you say, well I have already 8: 2 intake (80mm), 2 outtake (80mm+92mm), 2 (40mm) outtake for GPU and GPU+CPU. Now memory could use one or two and HDDs as well and chipset, so 8 would be nice to have stock on a board :)
     
  7. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    I like my ears.

    Thats why I use 1. :laugh:
     
  8. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    hmm, with all this heatpipe cooling, the perhipal things on the back are starting to disapear... I hope that there'll be more perhipal stuff on the rear i/o in the final version
     
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I only see 6. 1 pwm for the heatsink and 5 3pins. where in the hell do you see 8?
     
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I like my ears too, that's why all fans are 19db or less and those that arent are running 5V.

    Those 2 besides pci-e must be extra power plugs then.. I even looked that there where 4 besides memory sockets, but it's a heatsink xD
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    The two beside the PCIE slots are more likely floppy connectors, since they are arranged identically on both slots. You wouldn't need this for fan headers.

    Why?

    PS/2. USB. Ethernet. Firewire.

    Serial and parallel probably aren't even really supported anymore.


    Only thing else left to add really is eSata and more usb/firewire/ethernet ports, really.
     
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    holy shit this is my dream board!!! Man the IHS will allow me to use AS5 :)
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    :confused:

    I've been using AS3/ceramique/5 for ages. wtf are you talking about?

    I just hope intel isn't attaching the IHS like they did to the prescotts.

    Soldered.
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So wait, am I to assume that this actually has 2 true 16x PCIe lanes for graphics, not 8x lanes? It's about time a full bandwidth Crossfire solution came to Core2. (Assuming, of course, that it supports Crossfire)
     
  15. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    just what ive been waiting for... ddr3 :toast:
     
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nah the IHS performs better than the die for AS5.
     
  17. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    This.... doesn't make sense... unless you did it wrong.

    You always could have just put an IHS on the northbridge manually.. but adding a material between here... I have never seen a single test show IHS > direct.
     
  18. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    851 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    I too would like an answer to this question. Although from the way I read it it looked like it was saying there were 2 available 16x PCIe slots. Best I have seen so far has been 8x8 xfire lanes.
     
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The Crossfire Xpress 3200 is already offering dual 16x PCI-e. (At lease for AMD version)
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but currently, no chipset for Intel cpus supports Crossfire with dual true 16x lanes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page