1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computex 2008: InWin Commander Series PSUs

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    You will find InWin showing off their computer cases at the show, but this little puppy caught our eye. It is the 1500W power supply from the "Commander Series". It has a modular cable tree and a very cool paint job. The unit is 80 Plus and SLI certified. For those not wanting a smaller part, it is also available 650, 750 and 850W. These are actually not as large either, but come with a 140 mm fan and removable cabels as well.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: InWin
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2008
    thoughtdisorder says thanks.
  2. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Besides the flag, that is one COOL looking PSU! Thanks for the pics and the info!:toast:

    Hope you guys are enjoying yourselves!:rockout:
     
  3. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

    looks like an ammo box! schweet!
     
  4. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    I will try to take an additional picture of the smaller units to show you when I pass the booth again :) looks really nice, I really like em too ^^
     
  5. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    they'd be REAL nice for a COD/BF/similar mod ;)
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    very cool looking but who is the OEM?
     
  7. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Looks suggest either roots with Corsair (whomever they get theirs from) or Enermax...
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Corsair used to be from Seasonic, not sure now though. Never heard of InWin but I like the modularity and the design. An aside here, do we really need a 1500W PSU?
     
  9. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    I'm quite sure we're not there yet, but yes, IMO we'll probably need a 1500W PSU as the hardware gets more and more complex and energy hungry to meet the needs of folks like us. I can remember having a 150W PSU that worked just fine, but that's been many moons ago.:)
     
  10. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    I don't know too much about the wattage of the average household outlet...BUT, it seems we are approaching the limit of the regular joe 115 outlet with this awsome looking PSU.
     
  11. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Ive always considered the power supply to be the ' heart ' of the pc.

    It pumps the blood thru the veins!

    When my pc dies, people will point at her and say, ' she had a big heart ! '.

    Anyone thats going to purchase a 1500w psu has plans . . .
    Water cooling kits, strobelights, neon lights, shitloads of fans, 3/4 gfx cards, plug in the monitor with speakers, blah blah

    End of the day, last thing you need is a spike or a lack of power, so the 1500w is there for the genius/madman.

    That ammo box psu looks perfect for my system! Thanks for the idea :p
     
  12. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Don't get me wrong...I'm not poo-pooing the PSU...I'm a firm believer in "bigger is better" (ha, that's what she said) but seriously...I have an 1100 watter in my gaming rig...So I'm no stranger to big powerplants...What I'm wondering is, at what point do we start to strain our outlets, and circuit breakers?...1600 watts?, 1700 watts? 1800watts? I think we are getting close.
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    A 15A fuse can do between 1650 and 1800W. 20A can do between 2000 and 2400W. But even if you did have an 1800W or 2400W psu, how often is really gonna have to put out that much power?
     
  14. bill_d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if it's the only thing on that breaker but most houses have a whole room on 1 15 amp breaker
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Doesn't matter, no current rig from a home environment will pull that much power, and if one does, it's likely the person knows enough to plan ahead for it. The psu only takes from the wall what it needs. The top end systems don't usually pull more than 500w from the wall, which equates to around 4 to 4.5A. Just because a psu is rated at 1000+W, doesn't mean it actually pulls it from the wall.
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  17. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Yes they have been for some time. This is an external PSU. Thermaltake sells a 2KW psu which can go into the case.

    I have added a picture of the smaller 650W commander, which i snapped today.

    cheers
    DS
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    not in the US they can't
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page