1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Concerns about replacing HDD on Laptop

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Z52, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Hello everyone,

    I am thinking about buying a laptop and replacing the HDD with a SSD. I have some questions about the process.

    Laptop I chose: Acer Aspire AS5750G-6496 (From Newegg)
    Didn't choose a SSD yet but thinking about between 80GB - 120GB.

    First of all, would I be able to replace the HDD with SSD?
    The HDD interface = SATA but most SSD interface = SATAII. Is that a problem?
    I am guessing most laptop HDD is 2.5" so I shouldn't have any problem replacing it with a 2.5" SSD.

    Please let me know if you think there might be any problem doing the replacement.

    Thank You,

    Z52
     
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Same thing. SATAII is just faster. What chipset does to laptop have? That will tell you what it can support, and if SATAII will be fully ustilized.
     
    Z52 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Yes you can do it with not problems =) , doesn't matter if your Laptop is SATA and the SSD is SATA II , like t_ski said , SATA II is faster , but nothing alse .

    Cheers,
     
    Z52 says thanks.
  4. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Thank you both. Now I can relax :)
     
  5. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    No problem mate ;)
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Go ahead feel the speed.
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    only thing I can see as a potential issue s that if you plan to clone the factory OS, you will need a desktop to do so, or a dock of some sort. Other than that, if you have a copy of windows handy already, as they said, enjoy;)
     
  8. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I only run into one minor issue. The factory HDD had a plastic holding it in place but the SSD did not fit perfectly. The SSD goes in the place but I can't screw the back cover. I am thinking about breaking the plastic but did not decide yet.

    I was able to clone the factory OS from my HDD to my SSD without any problem. I saved an image to an external and restored it on the SSD.
     
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Post up pics if you can. I know a lot of manufacturers use some kind of carriage to hold the drive, then the whole assembly goes into the drive bay.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    [​IMG]

    The SSD is in place perfectly, but the screw holes are blocked.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2011
  11. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Are you positive it's seated all the way? I've seen a few that were tricky. If it doesn't line up, something is out of spec, and it's probably the SSD (which would worry me).
     
    95Viper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    maybe the SSD is a bit more big that the standard HDD that your laptop had ... try pushing a little more the SSD and see what happens , it has to fit!! also check the sata connections and see if everything its ok
     
  14. Z52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Everything works fine. The two little plastic is blocking the SSDs to go all the way, but it works fine. I can close the back cover of the laptop but just can't screw it in. I think I'll just break the two black plastics to be safe.
     
  15. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Post back if everything goes ok ;)

    Cheers,
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page