1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Connect 3d X850 xt

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by poo417, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Hi all,

    Going to ask probably a few dumb questions. I have a connect 3d x850 xt pcie card. I notice from the bios list that it is not listed in the connect 3d list but there is a 850xt under asus. Can any 850xt use any other x850 bios or does it have to be the same manufaturer. If not I can post my bios dump from my card to be listed under the connect 3d list. Also if it is ok to use other manufacturer's caould i use the ati x850 xt pe to flash my card. Sorry again if these are dumb questions. Lastly what is the temp range that is safe when OC'ing this card.

    Poo

    :confused:
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2005
  2. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Bioses are not usually manufacturer specific. Look for a bios that has matching memory brand and speed. Also use caution when flashing PCI-E cards, you must have the newest version of flashrom. Your best bet is to get ATItool and set it to overclock at startup, or when a game is launched. ATItool has the unique ability to detect artifacts, even invisible artifacts can eventually burn electron paths into the dielectric of the GPU and MEM and make an expensive paperweight.
    The only difference between X850XT and XTPE is the clock frequencies. They are both 16pipe cards. Stick away from flashing the bios, if at all possible, also, your warranty is void when you flash a bios from a different mfg. Sometimes parts of a different bios can get stuck in the EEPROM, and lead to an unusable, unreturnable graphics card. Very rare but it can happen.
    Also ATI rates their GPUs to a peak temp of 100C, but for overclocking, it should never go over 70C. Temps over 60C accelerate the degradation of any silicon device. The lower the better. If you replace the cooler, keep the origional one in case you need to use the warranty.
  3. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Hi Hellraiser1981 and thanks for the response. Not too worried about the oc'ing having read the difference it will make. What does concern me slightly is that using the ati tool scanning for artifacts the temp goes upto 90 c and 65 c I think this is not good!!! What the hell is wrong with my computer it is trying to cook it's self. Does anyone elses card get this hot just artifact scanning? Strangely the fan speed is still at 5% when at this temp. Help

    Poo
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    5% thats just plain dangerous!!!
    use the Fan overide in the tool to either A set it to maintain a temperature(say 55) os set it dynamically to say
    0- 70%
    40-80%
    45-85%
    and so on until its running at 100% at least at 55 and over. you will burn out that card quickly running those temps and X850s have exhaust to outside the case so any increased airflow is a plus anyway(bearing the volume I know my X800XTs stock cooling was a Turbine)
  5. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Thanks INSTG8R I thought that was a bit high. My old 9800 pro was no where near that will do as you advise. My comp already sounds like jet taking off anyway a bit more wont matter. Can't hear it while playing anyway ;) speaker up too loud so my fiance keeps telling me!!! Will let u know if that solves the problem. Are there any coolers that I could change from the stock?

    Poo
  6. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    LOL even with the fan runing at 100% still 65 c. Houston we have a problem. I think I will try and take the heatsink off clean it and use some AS 5 compound and reseat the cooler to see if that helps.

    Poo
  7. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    yep first thing I did with mine when it was on stock cooling was redo it in AS5. As for better cooling I would go for the Arctic Silencer it is pretty much the same in the design(exaust) it also covers the RAM and is VERY quiet and lowered my temps considerably. I got mid 60s under load with stock get mid 50s with the Silencer
  8. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    i guess that some things arent so good as it could be
    why should the manufactors give you really good coolers so they give you quiet but warm coolers

    for a x850 70 degree are okay
  9. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    My X800Pro (flashed to 16 pipes and 500/500XT speeds) was running up to 85degC under full load with stock cooler. With a Silencer 4 it runs at around 62degC max load, and is quieter than the stock cooler at all speeds. If you are going to OC I would recommend upgrading the cooler.
  10. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Hi and thanks for the help and advice. I am gettign cooler temp now upto 70 with fan stepping up to 100%. I think I will try the artic cooler and see how much differnce that makes.

    Poo
  11. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Hi all quick update. Thoght I would try and run a 3d 03 with my finger on the heatsink. Ran the whole test and still was no where near the 86 c the sensor said was able to easily keep my finger on the heatsink the whole time, LOL had to swith off the panic beep and the shut down to run the test. Got 12806 on 3d 03 is that any good.
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4074892

    I will also put this in my other post on hot 3500.

    Thanks again for all the help and advice.

    Poo
  12. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Hi Poo

    I get 11900 odd with an X800Pro flashed to XT specs (so 16 pipelines and 500/500) so I guess it depends on the rest of your rig - what are the specs of that? I would expect a little more but not much - pretty good!
  13. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    yeah I think somethins slowing you down somewhere I beat it just slightly with mine at PE speeds check link in my sig even downclocked my 2nd best score is still better
  14. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Hi my system is
    Abit AN8 MB
    3500+ 64 .13
    Corsair (TWINX1024-3200C2PT) 1024MB (2 x 512MB Matched Pair), DDR400 / PC3200
    connect 3d x850 xt.

    Not much really I suppose I could OC it but how much more would I get? Ive ended up with 2 post running at once DOH.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=3838

    The system is standard at the moment. Will aim for better heatsinks and fans.

    Poo
  15. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    hmm maybe theres not a huge performance gaps between 800s and 850s tho my P4 is still beating yours a bit as well(mines mildly OC to 215 FSB I have PAT on my Mobo if I push it any further I will lose it) but seems odd a P4E OC 200mhz would beat a AMD 64 Im also using ABit for Mobo and identical RAM at bone stock I still can get 12356.
    Bios up to date on the MoBo,chipset drivers etc?
  16. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Yeah, I have had 12600 with mild OC on both system and card so thats about right:)
  17. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    Yeah everything is upto date. The only thing is need to get my audigy 2 card out from 1 of my other machines but I don't suppose that will make much difference.

    Poo

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page