1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Connect3D X1900 Crossfire Master Card troubles (possible bios replacement?)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by veryevil, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. veryevil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, having major problems with my vid card. It refuses to cold boot.

    When i first switch my comp on the red light flashes (on the card) then nothing i get post codes but windows keeps booting although i cannot see it.

    The if i switch it off and on again the red light flashes and i get post codes then the green light comes on but still no video

    Third time it boots normally with the red light flash then the green light come on instantly and all is fine

    This happens every time it cold boots! Any ideas what could be causing this?

    Also if anyone has this card if they could send us a copy of the bios i would be truly greatful

    Cheers
     
  2. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    If you are talking for the light on the card's board the problem could be caused by your Power supply. Try with one with min. 400W.
     
  3. veryevil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah the lights on the GFX card. Im using a Antec NeoHE 550 Watt so power isnt the prob
     
  4. Changis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwegia
    little more info on your computer? mainboard cpu, ram and such.
     
  5. veryevil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, my comp specs are:

    Intel Core 2 Duo (Conroe) E6600
    2 x 1GB Gskill DDR2-800 PC6400 4-4-4-12
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe
    Antec NeoHE 550w
    Connect3D X1900 Xfire Mastercard

    Cheers
     
  6. Changis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwegia
    are you overlcocking? tried with another videocard?
    I have almost identical problems after i push my asus mb up to beyond 250 fsb. gotta fondle the powerbutton to make it start from cold, crappy asus :( no support, and when i complain they delete the mail, bastards!
     
  7. veryevil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No it does it at stock. I will be over clocking though.

    I have just bought a OCZ PowerXtreme powersupply to try as there is problems with "anus" (asus) and antec which i should get tomorrow so will see
     
  8. Changis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwegia
    you should try with another video card as well, and mabye half the memory (take one out, then alternate them)
     
  9. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    try measuring the power output from the power supply, i've need seen a power supply do the actual wattage it says in the box yet.

    the ratings are usually the max power output, not the average. useless it states so.
     
  10. veryevil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, I cannot try another GFX card as i dont have one alls ive got is AGP stuff. I have also tried swapping ram about which hasnt helped.

    he power supply is certifed to run Crossfire so is able to run two cards so its no where near its top end.

    Cheers people :)
     
  11. Changis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwegia
    well veryevil, dont know too much about your PSU, but I know that rails and watts shouldnt matter, a single rail 450 can be more powerful than a 500w dual rail, (quality of components and how many % effectiveness it produses @ full load)
    mabye you have a friend who has a pci-e card or even a pci card you can borrow to test with.

    EDIT: please correct me if i'm wrong.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page