1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Connected to internet but browsers not working.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by kid41212003, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I'm trying to fix a HP laptop for a friend.

    IM's working fine, and Windows can update itself, but IE and FF refused to work (The pages can not be displayed).

    I have tried uninstall all networking devices, reset winsock catalog, but still no luck.

    I tried nslookup and pinging in cmd, and both of them worked just fine, so it's not the DNS problem.

    I triple-check all the proxies setting and it's NOT using any proxies.

    I tested on 3 modems, with 2 different ISP providers and the results are the same.

    I ran Malwarebyte and it didn't detect anything.

    Any suggestions? I have no ideas what else to do :(.
     
  2. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Is the "Work Offline" box checked under File in FF/IE?
     
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Nope.
     
  4. 933k

    933k New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Zealand
    have you emptied the cache?

    maybe run ccleaner
     
  5. PowderedSugar

    PowderedSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NJ
    you could try dial-a-fix. Or check the firewall settings on the pc or router. Port 80 might be blocked for some reason.
     
  6. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    Has the laptop ever had any norton products installed?

    If so there is a very frequent issue where norton will block any browser traffic (this includes iTunes, Steam etc) but any DOS commands would work fine (ping, nslookup, ipconfig etc)

    The fix is to download the latest norton removal tool and run it to clear out all the norton DLLs and drivers)
     
    kid41212003 says thanks.
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Done.

    Already tried different routers, other computers still work though.

    This maybe the problem, I will try this right now.
     
  8. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    Try putting your ISPs DNS addresses (Primary and Alternate) in the TCP/IP properties of your LAN connection.

    Lets know how it goes!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Using the Norton Removal fixed the problem. Man, you saved my life! Thanks!
     
    IggSter says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page