1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Constant 100% Load

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AceFactor, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Hey Guys, Aplolgies for not posting for a while. .have had about a million things 2 sort out. .including family and friends :ohwell:

    I seem to have got a problem wiv my PC going reali laggy. .a program keeps tryin to switch off my McAffee firewal. . programs are continuously locking up. .and task manager shows my cpu is at 100% load constant. .even with no programs open :confused:

    Seems i'm in desperate need off help. .all suggestions gratefully accepted. .:D

    Thanx

    -Adam
  2. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Which process is using 100%?

    When these kind of things happen to me I usually just format.
  3. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    you have spyware
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah I agree with Steven on this. Get adware and spybot search and destroy, run them and see if they can clear anything up. But usually a format is the easiest way.

    -Dan
  5. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    also do this, go into taskmanager or if it doresnt come up, search for it and double click the icon. In side see what task is running, see if winupdates is running, htat thing ia a piece of spyware, and i had the same problem.
  6. G.T

    G.T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    573 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of Hell
    Ditch using IE if you do.
  7. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    You should run those programs once a week or more to keep your system from getting bogged down with spyware. Make sure the programs definitions are up to date too.
  8. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    i fyour good with windows dl hijackthis
  9. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Yeah. Hijackthis is a good utility, but don't get delete happy and delete every registry key that it finds. Only the ones you know don't belong.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page