1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cool & Quiet won't work :(

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Techtu, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    The other day I went to restart as usual... The boot froze up and wouldn't do anything I had to clear the bios, anyways since then and several more times after resetting the bios I still have no Cool & Quiet, I'm able to enable it in bios but it just doesn't do anything anymore... I have a sneeky suspicion that the board may be dying on me maybe. or is there something I've missed?
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Which AMD rig is it? XP can be a pain to get Cool N Quiet working sometimes.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    My Windows 7, as far as I'm aware my other doesn't support it.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Perhaps the bios got fuggered somehow. Try flashing it.
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    On my XP-M 2500 setup I had a LONG time ago it had CnQ setup on it. Anyways Windows 7 should have no problems with CnQ. What is your power setting set as? Grab AMD monitor and it should show in real time what is going on, http://majorgeeks.com/AMD_Power_Monitor_d4939.html.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Sounds a reasonable suggestion :toast:

    Downloaded and installed but won't run... something to do with a visual run time error (C++).
     
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Could someone merge this with my other thread what is very alike this one... Here it is, please?

    Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    So it's hot and loud eh?
     
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Haha... it's no louder as I manually set most of the fan speed's, But it's certainly hotter as it doesn't drop the voltage of the CPU when idle. which is what I miss :cry:
     
  10. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    the 6400+ is a very hot chip unless u C&Q it. after you flash the bios matey get into windows, shut down then clear cmos for about 10mins and it should cure your problem.

    that is the way i always clear cmos and it has never failed me.
     
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    That is the way i reset the bios... i think im guna try it again though, and hope for the best.
     
    computertechy says thanks.
  12. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    do you remove the battery? that's the best way to clear cmos.
     
  13. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    ya i did.
     
    computertechy says thanks.
  14. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    PhenomMSRTweaker is one great tool for customized cool & quiet... but it seems it requires a K10 processor (Phenom, Phenom II, Athlon X2 6500 and 7750...)
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  15. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Thanks for the tip mate... but that is no use whatsoever to me or anything in this thread.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,765
    +1 to that.

    its a replacement to cool and quiet, so you can get the power and heat savings without needing CnQ working.


    CnQ is part mobo, part CPU, part software (OS)

    software is where it buggers up the most and as such, PMSTR (see quote) is a perfect alternative - and it lets you customise it too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page