1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cooler worth the effort?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nflesher87, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    Hey everyone, I have an HP desktop with an AMD socket 939 board that I just upgraded from a sempron to Athlon 64 +3400 2.2ghz OEM. I'm currently just using the OEM cooler that came with the computer and it keeps it at ok temps (I used AC5 when installing the new CPU) but to keep the fan from running really loud (I run F@H 24/7 on it and the computer is at my fiance's apartment in her room hence she gets annoyed when it runs loud :eek:) I have to keep speedfan running the whole time too to keep the rpms down.
    I saw the link to Petra's Tech Shop in someone's sig and noticed this http://www.petrastechshop.com/arcosi64ul.html
    being so cheap (even w/ shipping, total = $13) is it worth it to try it out? It's gotten mediocre reviews, which include notes about it having non adjustable speed (does that mean even speedfan won't control it?) so I'm not sure
    well I think I've said more than enough for now haha thanks for the input all
     
  2. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i cant say i know this product you are looking at, but i would think if it marked down so much it would be for a reason... prob no one is buying it. the best coolers to be looking out for would have to be thermalright. , they are expencive and u will need to buy a fan to go with it, but there woth there weight in gold
     
  3. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,163 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,163 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    Its quiet and keeps stuff cool. You can probably work up $45 be getting a little overtime esily
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,171 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,929
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I had a friend who had that cooler and it was an improvement on stock cooling, not a huge difference, I think about 5C at idle and 10C at full load but it's OK for that price no doubts.

    Glad to see you got your proccie in the end, if you are only going to do some light overclocking that cheap cooler will do you fine, if you want to try your hand at some heavier stuff you will need better cooling and I would personally suggest the Artic cooling freezer 64 pro at $29.99 in Newegg, it is a top class cooler, good price and you can work it that it pushes all the hot air from the CPU out the back of your case through an extractor fan, save up for a while if you need to.....your patience will be worth it but as I said, that one will do fine for light overclocking a couple of hundred Mhz over stock.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835185125
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    good advice man thanks, I'll definitely keep that cooler in mind, it's just too bad I can't oc the new cpu since the oem mobo has a locked BIOS...I think I might actually go ahead and get it then
     
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,171 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,929
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I forgot you couldnt overclock, yes the cheap Artic will be fine then.
     
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    k so I should be getting the cooler in this afternoon at some point,
    I used AS5 when I installed the new cpu last month so:
    -do I still need to clean off the AS5 that's on the cpu already?
    -or do I just add a little to make up for what was lost on the old cooler?
     
  10. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    You can clean it or just add AC5 again.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,163 (5.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would still clean everything up and re-apply.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    k sounds good I'll just give it a cleaning I suppose...any recommendations for cleaning the cpu? (I know everything to use and what to do but I mean so I don't bend any pins)
     
  13. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,171 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,929
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Agreed, better to be safe and get the best out of it for a few minutes work.
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  14. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    error in orthos

    k well installation and all completed, temps are comparable (a bit higher than stock fan but this one definitely is completely silent which is what I mainly wanted) so I figured I'd run orthos just for the heck of it to test out the system and here's what I got...
    Type: Blend - stress CPU and RAM Min: 8 Max: 4096 InPlace: No Mem: 1278 Time: 15
    CPU: 2188MHz FSB: 200MHz [218MHz x 10.0 est.]
    6/23/2007 10:51 AM
    Launching 1 thread...
    Using CPU #0
    Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.
    Press Stop to end this test.
    Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
    Test 2, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922943 using 1024K FFT length.
    Test 3, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19374367 using 1024K FFT length.
    Self-test 1024K passed!
    Test 1, 800000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M172031 using 8K FFT length.
    Test 2, 800000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M163839 using 8K FFT length.
    Test 3, 800000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M159745 using 8K FFT length.
    Test 4, 800000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M157695 using 8K FFT length.
    Self-test 8K passed!
    Test 1, 560000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M212991 using 10K FFT length.
    Test 2, 560000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M210415 using 10K FFT length.
    Test 3, 560000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M208897 using 10K FFT length.
    Test 4, 560000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M204799 using 10K FFT length.
    Test 5, 560000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M200705 using 10K FFT length.
    Self-test 10K passed!
    Test 1, 4500 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M17432577 using 896K FFT length.
    Test 2, 4500 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M17432575 using 896K FFT length.
    Test 3, 4500 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M17115073 using 896K FFT length.
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
    Torture Test ran 1 hours, 3 minutes 11 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
    Execution halted.


    I've never encountered an error with a stress testing suite and am not quite sure what to do as I haven't oc'd anything (can't, it's an hp)
    anyone have any advice?
    As a note, I just began a small fft test to see if something happens with just the cpu so I know if it is mem or cpu related
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    3 pin fans and mobo headers vary the fan speed by reducing voltage, or cutting off voltage.

    Fan does NOT have any impact on adjustable speed, unless it was plugged directly into a molex.

    the intel 4 pin headers have I believe more "fine" control, and a I believe variable speed is part of the spec for them.

    Speedfan is just dependent on the motherboard having the necessary hardware to adjust the voltage.

    (which is in the Cool'N'Quiet spec from AMD IIRC)
     
  16. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Texas
    anyone know anything about the orthos error?
    also, I've been running small FFTs - stress CPU for about 2 hours now with no errors, so I'm assuming it's a memory problem
     
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Run memtest86. That'll tell ya! :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page