1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Coolermaster Presents PSU with Power LAN Functionality & CM Storm Sentinel Mouse

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,651 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    We managed to take a close look at a new product that Coolermaster is working on, which combines their expertise for PSU with the functionality of creating a network using the power lines within your home. This 700 W & 80Plus Silver certified power supply has a Power LAN adapter built in, so by plugging it into a socket, you may simply route the outgoing Ethernet port to the one of your PC.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The CM Storm Sentinel mouse is their high-end gaming device, which comes with an OLED display, a weight system, has onboard memory to store your profiles with and allows for adjustments on the fly, without the need to have the software installed. The mouse will hit retail in the near future for 69 US Dollars.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Nice mouse...
    but I'm not sure what the Power LAN actually does...
     
  3. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Turns your power lines throughout your house into network cables.

    I.e. Ethernet cord in kitchen plugged into adaptor into outlet.
     
    h3llb3nd4 says thanks.
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    oh I like that especially if speed is pretty good. Will be good for my PS3 instead of using wireless.
     
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Oh! those things!:p
    I thought you needed special adapters, but not from a PSU!!
     
  6. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    This PSU comes with an adapter basically, IIRC.
     
  7. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    This is great, i have powerLAN in my house at the moment connecting my TV and bluray player with my router on the other side of the house, i hope this is compatible with most the other adapters out there, would be great to put in a home server and then a HTPC to get faster-than-wireless transfers when watching films and stuff :)
     
  8. Icejon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    122 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It should be compatible with the latest standards IEEE for powerline. This depends on the age of your PLC devices. Early generations were one of two standards: Homeplug and HD-PLC. Within the last 18months I believe the most current generation devices and adapters are able to communicate with eachother. The power supply should include the adapter, because it would be silly to put your ethernet into the wall but not be able to get it out.

    Does your network work through fuse boxes and different phases in your wiring?:slap:
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    thats a nifty idea as currently you can get faster speeds down the power line than you can get wireless and for a lot of people its more handy that ethernet cables trailed everywhere

    its just a homeplug adapter built into a psu runs the network down the powerline

    they cost about £30-£50 a go seperate so its seems cheaper
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,943 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    OMG!!! I want that fucking mouse!!!!
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,332 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Really tempting to finally get rid of the MX Rev for that mouse.
     
  12. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    933 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Had a quick play with the mouse, it's really really good.
    5000dpi is way overkill, but it's super comfortable to hold as it's got a soft rubber coating (I just hope it lasts) and it's just high and long enough to fit comfortable in your hand, but it's also narrow enough towards to rear to work well if you hold it with your thumb and pinkie.
    I was really impressed by it and the new CM Strom mouse mats are also sweet, especially the big super smooth one they were demoing the mouse on.
     
  13. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    sweet mouse

    Just 69 for the mouse. Not bad compared to prices of others that have high dpi. I cant wait for the relesae. I want it sooo bad
     
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    That mouse looks like a G9 with a few aesthetical changes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page