1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cooling issues on stock speeds.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by paybackdaman, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Ok, so I have an Athlon x2 5200+ 90nm w/ an arctic cooling Freezer 64 pro. It is idling right now @ 40 degrees C. So here is the scenario. I have recently moved into a place that didn't have AC. I went from 74 degrees F to 90 degrees F. So my core temps sored to almost 47 degrees C. I didn't see any problems with that as it was hot. When it was in 74 degree F it was running at 30-31 degrees C at idle. Now I have AC again and it is 75 degrees right now, I was wondering why my comp is idling @ 40 degrees C? I have cool n' quiet enabled (not overvolting or anything), and all fans are dust free. Wire management is good...could it be the MX-2 thermal paste was affected by the vast temp change and just needs to be reset? In which case i'll just pick up some Arctic Silver 5 as I am out of MX-2. (*note* placement of the computer is exactly the same as in my old house)
  2. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    no advice? :(
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Even with the best air cooler you can get temps below what your ambient temp is(like the degrees in your room).
  4. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    I am a bit confused by your answer...are you saying you "can't" get it below your ambient temp? I understand that, but I was wondering why the 9 degree difference (in Celsius) on idle speeds with a 1 degree difference (in Fahrenheit) of room temperature.

    I see where it is confusing shadow, I have Air conditioning again...i am no longer in 90 degrees anymore, I'm now at 75 degrees (in Fahrenheit).
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2008
  5. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Your heatsink could have shifted in the move. It wouldn't hurt trying to reset it with new thermal paste. In the meantime press on all the fasteners to make sure none of them are loose.
    paybackdaman says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    you could have knocked your cooler loose, but MX2 is non curing, so I doubt its the TIM at fault here. Possibly bad contact from the move tho. Wont hurt one but to pull the cooler and reaply the TIM.


    Edit: damn your fast thermo....lol
    paybackdaman says thanks.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    90F is like 32C, so I think the contact between the heatsink got messed up in the move like Thermo said. Get your hands on some AS5 or something else that's good and re-apply. Wouldn't hurt to blow out the heatsink with a can of air as you reseat, either.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Alright. So I am just gonna pick up some more AC5. Thanks for the advice guys. You'll hear nothing more about this unless it doesn't work...then again planning on going to Spider arch. so this will be just a "in the meantime" thing. Thanks again though.
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Um.... MX2 is "good" its rated better than AS5
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    My 5200+ Windsor idles at 30c and loads at 40-42c at 1.33v, about 68f ambiant
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Yeah, it also doesn't have metal so less chance of shock damage if you get it on your motherboard, I've just always used AS5 and I only used MX-2 because it was already on the heatsink.

    Mine used too before I moved. :shadedshu
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I doubt a jump from 74 to 90 would make that big of a difference. It got messed up in the move.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Yeah. It must have...I was wondering though. Would I see a difference if i upgraded to a Zalmann? I was on a budget when i built this computer and couldn't afford it, but now I have the cash, and was wondering would it be worth the $45+?
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    yes and no. It will perform better than stock, but there are better coolers out there for the money. Having a Zalman 9500 myself, the flaw I see , is that the zalman isnt for "extreme" OC's as it gets saturated with heat easily at higher voltages.

    the Arctic Coolers are usually great performers for the money, also the Xigmatech line is getting lots of good words from users here as well!

    I say stick with yours over $45 at a zalman....or look at a couple of shoot outs on coolers and see what is better than your AC.
    paybackdaman says thanks.
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    paybackdaman says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea im gonna pick up that Xigmatek with my next rig :)
  17. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    +1 on xigmatec
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I will use my Freezer 64 as long as I can!! I'm very happy with it. XIGMATEK is great for people who want cheap performance though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Don't get me wrong. I love the Freezer 64 pro, I just thought with the $45 price tag you would just actually recieve something that keeps it cooler. But yeah, how is the freezer 64 on the Phenom 9850?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page