1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cooling problem amd athlon xp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hoax32, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Hello techpowerup!!!!
    Im new here and please tell me if u think i dont do or understande something right. :eek:
    Before i start....im german and im not a professional in english so just tell me if u dont understand something.

    I have a old computer i use basicly for surfing, wolfenstein enemy territory and some other things.

    But in the last time i recognized, that the CPU temps where really high!!!
    I came on the idea to check it after the fans where on 100% the whole day!!!! (Headache) :banghead: !!!!!

    And the results SHOCKED ME!!!!!! 148 Fahrenheit ( 64 Celsius)-Desktop
    160 Fahrenheit (71 Celsius)-Gaming/HD Videos

    So i went to frys and got me some "Ceramique by AS" cause i thought its bec of the old thermal compoound. After i puted i on verry carefully and turned on the computer the bios was telling me 140 Fahrenheit (60 Celsius). At the desktop 144 (62).

    So my average CPU temperature decreased a litle but.......

    Isin't that kinda high???

    I have a Case fan and a big Aluminium Heatsink with ?Cooler Master Fan?--->not shure

    So are these Temps normal for my system or to high?
    Should i buy me a new heatsink/cooler/case fan?
    Any other ideas how to keep the system cool and quiet?

    A BIG THANK U FOR READING MY POST AND ANY HELP!!!!!!!! :)
  2. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    CPU Heatsink: CoolerMaster Hyper212 Plus !, but hey is that one Socket 754 :( In that case have no idea :D
    Btw that's no problem on that temperature. But still can get aftermarket CPU Cooler for better cooling
    hoax32 says thanks.
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Your temps are fine, but what exact processor do you have?

    Are you using the stock cooler?
    hoax32 says thanks.
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    my athlon xp also ran hot. i think 150 was the highest i ever saw it go though.

    if you want to buy a new cooler this is a good one, Scythe SCSMZ-2000 92mm Sleeve CPU Cooler

    the one i had was an Athlon XP 2500 with the Barton core.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    It also cant hurt to reseat the heatsink. I forgot to push in a pin in a stock cooler once and it was idling at 80C.

    Try reseating and making sure there is a fan directly on the heatsink.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  6. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    BIG Thank u too all of the Responses!!!
    Its an AMD Athlon XP 2400+.
    I just updated my system specs too so u can see the hardware!

    Well at least i can sleep now, without having a nightmare where i wake up at the morning and my whole room looks like silent hill!!!! :laugh:

    AWESOME FORUMS HERE!!!!!!!!!! :rockout:
  7. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    A socket 754 :( Even worse than my current system now :D And yeah possible the CoolerMaster Hyper212 Plus
  8. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Its actually a Socket 462....or better known.....Socket A. ;)
    I know that socket 370 Heatsinks fit on a 462 to.
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,547 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea that is hot, even if its a stock cooler, i have 4-5 Athlon XP CPU's around here that all work and none of them will get over like 55c, so something isn't right.

    I have noticed when applying to much thermal compound that it can increase temps, make sure its a very small and thin amount. Also make sure the heat sink is the right way around as they only go on one direction. (Bump at one end).

    I have here,
    XP 2100+
    XP 2000+
    XP 3200+
    XP Duron 800MHz
    and a XP at 1200MHz

    None get over or i have seen get over 55c :)
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    My mom's Sempron 3000+ loads at 65*C, with a better-than-stock cooler and MX-2 paste. Don't worry bro, I guess Socket A hardware just doesn't run very cool.
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    The system speeds up the fans to 100% only if the temps climbe to 69-70C.
    And it turns the fan automaticly down when the temps are below 62C.

    So if it the fans get quiet at 62C shouldnt that mean, that the temps are normal???(SpeedFan)

    Before i applyed the thermal paste it was always on 5000rpm (100%) the whole day.


    I just tried an Old AMD Athlon 1000 @ 1GHz and it says, that the temps are 26C!!!!!(in Texas?????) :twitch:

    I runned benchmark , but still 26C!!!

    Wird somehow :confused:
  12. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    i think its still normal if you don''t want to overclock, so don't bother buy new heatsink it doesn't needed
    hoax32 says thanks.
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,014 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Rochester area
    clean the dust out anything under 80c is fine
    hoax32 says thanks.
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    3BTech is a GREAT supplier/e-tailer, the best refurb/open box seller i've seen and quite a few items(65%) are brand new. I suggest that cooler shown above that is listed at 3btech.
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    It could also be a bad sensor, the sensors on the Socket A boards weren't exactly accurate, and there isn't a sensor in the core like more modern processors.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,547 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Whats the temps say in the BIOS?

    Im surprised that your fan increases and decreases as all the ones i have none do that, they are all so called set at 100% depends on the heatsink and fan used, some are at 3500RPM and the smaller ones run at 5000RPM at all times.

    Have you tried different temp programs? i also use speed fan and go with the temp that is the same as the BIOS temp, and thats mainly temp2

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page