1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Copper DSL at 300Mbps over 400m?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by qubit, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Just when you thought that copper telephone wires had reached the end of the line for fast broadband, there's a new technology that extends there life. This one seems to do it by suppressing crosstalk:

    I'm well within the 400m limit to my telephone exchange so could theoretically have this, but I would still prefer a fiber connection though. That remains fast, whatever the distance and is less prone to faults.

    TG Daily
    Hybrid_theory says thanks.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Bump! No one interested in this? :confused:

    This sort of thing tends to be quite high on an enthusiast's agenda.
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Im interested in this, but not very technically minded when it comes to stuff like this, Im assuming this is for the UK:eek:
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    It's not country specific in the article, but I think it applies anywhere you have a copper-based communications infrastructure. So it could apply to America just as well as the UK.
  5. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,861 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    yeah that is some crazy shite. I did not think a wimpy phone line could handle that kind of flood!

    I would expect it to take forever to integrate here in the US though - it is software though, right? or even hardware on each end , but not along the line? that at least gives some hope!!
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    DSL ? I'm lucky to have telephone.
    Verizon is never going to do squat where we live. Our land lines still run through analog switches. :shadedshu

    A local Telco co-op (not too far away) ran fiber to everyone's homes in their area.
    Top bandwidth offered is 3Mb. :wtf:
  7. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,861 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    LOL wtmf ;) there was a gag reaction to that... ty! lol
  8. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    It's an awesome tech - I'm looking forward to having a 100mbps connection at home. With how media distribution is changing (netflix streaming, IPTV, etc) I only see home internet connections growing.

    I'm sitting on 25mbps at home now, and love it. And it's over copper - VDSL2.
  9. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Verizon is the local telephone service here so this will never happen, I will stick with DOCSIS 3.0
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Fiber? Must be strands of cotton at that speed
    MadClown says thanks.
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    I don't understand, are you stuck with dial-up internet access? I hope not, buddy! :confused:
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No, my friend, I have satellite. The best thing I can say about it is that it does not suck as hard as dial-up for downloading and surfing. Dial-up was better for online games. It had better ping times.

    Welcome to my world :laugh:
    That's okay though, when I get fed up with my crap internet connections I just go out and shoot something. lol
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    400m from the exchange is pretty damn close. Most people who suffer with poor DSL speeds are the ones much further from the exchange. People within 400m are most likely already capable of receiving 20+mbps lines. I want DSL tech that improves speed over distance :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Ah, satellite, expensive, but preferable. As counterintuitive as it sounds, dial-up would have better ping times because of the much shorter distances involved. I remember seeing an article on this ages ago.
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    For all you people who have a 10Mb+ connection I just want to say ... [Posted word removed by obscene language filter. Level 9000].

    LOL ... Yes I am always keeping up on the new broadband tech and this looks promising.
    High speed over copper is as awesome achievement, and a testiment to the people who keep working to make it better. :toast:
    qubit says thanks.
  16. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Ive played with a guy online that has satellite and his ping was around 90, vs 250-400 on dial-up. Nonetheless, were's my 300Mbps connection, I have a hundredth of that bandwidth lol. Can't complain though, I never lose connection with my DSL, my friends lose their cable connection from time to time.
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Oh, come on now, I've gadda know what the posted word was! :laugh: :laugh:

    Yeah, I can very well relate to the feelings that give rise to such words. ;)
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    [​IMG]

    Sigh.
  19. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Kreij im guessing you cant get any point to point or wireless providers in your area. at my cottage had a 1.5 mbit up and down connection that used an antenna up in a tree. was fairly good except when it rained. then got like 800ms.
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ahahahah

    [​IMG]

    No wonder though. Your packets go to outer space and back to the server that's 50 miles away. Mine cross the oceans over those ~8000 miles.
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    i want a legit speed test bta go go go!!
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Guys someone claiming a 300Mbps at 400m is like a guy claiming he can throw a 110MPH fast ball from 20 feet. :shadedshu It's pointless...
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I was advertised 1.5 Mbps. Welcome to India :)

    [​IMG]
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,063 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Latencies don't have much to do with bandwidth. I can play on Central US BC2 servers with ~200 ms, which is fairly playable.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page