1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Copy 500gb main hdd to new 500gb hdd and swap? Possible?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Rexter, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    Quick, and likely stupid question.

    So my desktop pc has a very slow 500gb hdd, and its quite the bottleneck.

    I was then wondering, if i bought a faster 500gb hdd, can i somehow make an exact copy and just swap them around?

    My first guess is it wont work but it wouldnt hurt to ask.
     
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,276 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Home
    Yes you can. Just do a HDD mirror, I dont exactly know how you do it, but its possible.
     
  3. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Yes, but you will need to have a 3rd party program, like norton ghost (someone correct me if I'm wrong)
     
  4. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    918 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    London, UK
    or acronis true image, which ive used a few time to clone hdd's
     
  5. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    alright cool, so i buy a new hdd, same size as the old, plug it in, and get a cloning program, and voila?
     
  6. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    It aint necessary for both to be of the same size. Yes its as pretty simple as that! ;)
     
  7. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    alright, i was just worried it would mess with the bootsectors or something, so i couldnt just do a swap.
     
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    there is normally an application that come with a new harddrive that will ghost the original drive..OEM maybe no app but full retail almost always an app.
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,747 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Just use "PING". My personal favorite.

    http://ping.windowsdream.com/

    I use it for all backup/mirroring tasks. Boots of the CD and works really great. Linux based.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page