1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo E6300 vs AMD Athlon 64 6000+

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by techbuzz, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, I have been very discouraged about my recent computer parts order. I have built many computers before, but I have never seriously overclocked before. From what I have read on this forum, everyone seems to be recommending the E6300 because, "it beats any AMD Athlon 64 chip after being overclocked." How is it possible that the E6300 is so much better? Should I send my AMD Athlon 64 6000+ and new mobo back and order the E6300? My plan was to play games. I also ordered an 8800 GTS (360MB) video card. I don't know...I have spent a lot of money on my new build and I want to be happy with it for a while.

    Edit: I am interested in overclocking my new build.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    Keep your AMD and be proud man! That is a fine chip that won't produce as much as a hiccup while playing games.
     
  3. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Keep your 6000+. Although I love my Core2Duo, I doubt the RMA process is worth it (if you happened to buy your parts from Newegg, returning items will cost you extra money).

    If you don't mind paying the restocking fee and return shipping, the E6300 is a bit better after being overclocked since it isn't as dependant on memory timings as the 6000+ is.
     
  4. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks man. Is that cpu easily overclocked? I ordered this mobo:

    see below...
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    Heck, I would say ditch that and go with a cheaper Brisbane core to keep some cash. I actually prefer gaming on an AMD over and Intel. My music recording system has a Core2Duo in it and I wouldn't use anything else.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    Your link is for a nVidia 8800 Video Card.
     
  7. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Heh you sent a link for the graphics card instead :D
     
  8. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
  9. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Looks good... you'll probably need to change the fan on the mobo since it'll probably get really loud and annoying though :D
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
  11. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
  12. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Excellent choice! I have that and I couldn't be happier with the way it performs and looks :)
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Well if you want the absolute best overclocked performance you can get then send the 6000+ back. Even the $140 E4300 hits 3.6GHz on air easily with a good motherboard, the 6000+ would never hit that speed on air, and even still clock for clock the E4300 outperforms the 6000+. So even if you could get the 6000+ up to 3.6GHz it would still be outperformed by the E4300 and the E4300 costs a good $100 less.

    Just the price difference in the processor alone should cover the restocking fees, but how much is the hassle worth to you? A good motherboard is going to cost you atleast $130 though, but in the end you should still come out spending less money and getting better performance.

    It is up to you though, the 6000+ is certainly a very nice processor, and will do everything you want it to just fine for years to come, but there are better options out there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    How would you compare a AMD and Intel both at 3.6
    That is no comparisation imo.
     
  15. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Ok. I'm a newbee to this forum.

    What does "imo" mean?

    And...

    What do you mean by "there is no comparison." I'm guessing you mean that the Intel chip is much better.?.?
     
  16. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Lol. Imo means ''i my opinion''
    No the Intel chip is not better. The clock frequency are diferent from eachother. A 3 gh Intel can not be compared to a 3 gh AMD
     
  17. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    It's interesting to hear what everyone has to say about AMD and Intel. This forum has really helped me make my computer purchasing decisions. Thanks technicks! :respect:
     
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,772 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    It's easy to compare them. I mean, a 3Ghz c2d will do things faster than a 3Ghz A64.

    AMD's CPU's are still good though, it's just that c2d is faster.
     
  19. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    6000+ is just slighty under the c2d-6700
     
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    On the score of performance, the E6300 once OCd will beat a AMD system. If your like me and have the future in mind, then a C2D is deffinately the way to go.
     
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    But if you look at it on stock speeds. Not everyone overclocks his sytem.;)
    Would a C2D E6300 be faster then lets say a AMD 5400 dual core?
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Probably about even.
     
  23. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    stock speeds don't matter here because he is looking to overclock his system

    this isn't a discussion of intel vs. amd in situations that apply to people that aren't pcgolfer85

    you can go have that discussion somewhere else, it has no place in this thread
     
  24. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    How much success will I get overclocking the AMD Athlon 64 6000+ chip?
     
  25. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page