1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo E8700 Gets Listed, Price Displacement Model Stays

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 15, 2009.

  1. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I sure would wanted a tri-core 775 chip instead of this. 1-3 games in PC world (all ported from multi cpu console) makes PC sellers wanna sell their new cpus....
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2009
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I'll admit socket 775 stuff has been around for a long time, but I don't plan on upgrading my E8400 any time soon. :D

    Clocked to 4.5GHz (563x8) 24/7... No game will max this processor for some time to come.

    Obsolete?! Hell no!
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    That link is to an article about Intel discontinuing the DX48BT2, it says nothing (other than speculation) about Intel Discontinuing the X48 chipset, or in fact any of Intel's other LGA 775 motherboards or chipsets.

    Please dont come into a thread and start flamebaiting or making things personal with other members. Everyone is entitled to thier own opinion, you have made yours, you don't need to repeat yourself :)
  4. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i wish they'd quit playing around and just release the E9000 @ 4ghz :p. yea i see this chip only benefitting those that are building new budget pc's as it'll hopefully lower current intel CPU prices some. And of course it should help those enthusiasts set new oc records :cool:
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    563 FSB :eek: daaaaaaaaaaammm
  6. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    4GHz dual core would do nothing in GTA4...thats a reason ppl need quads..or not, that was a port...grrrrr
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    :laugh: :toast:

    Got a bit more fsb headroom, 575 is the highest i've had it stable, but needs a lot more volts to the NB. I'm only at 1.4v vmch for this, linpack stable!
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    It really says somethign when a dead horse whips the thorobreds :)of other competitors
    a_ump and infrared say thanks.
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Make it to 600 FSB and you'll have the same bandwidth as the i7's QPI! :rockout:
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    really? lol how is that calculated?
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    400 FSB is about 12.8 GB/s, and the i7's do 19.2 GB/s, while the i7 extreme does 25.6 GB/s.

    So to match the normal i7s you need 600 FSB!

    And to match the extreme edition its 800 FSB!
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Cool, that's some interesting info.

    I wander if i can get to 600mhz fsb... Nooo, don't tempt me, I know where this leads!
  13. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    278 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    If i am a fanboi to any company its AMD and i am sitting here telling you that the intel chips perform better in just about every little thing you can think of.[/QUOTE]

    Only one question...why buy amd then? Fanboism is worth the price of "worser" performance in "every little thing you can think of?" Not trying to be an ass, honestly just doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me though I agree with all of what you say considering it's true in just about any test you compare the two at...

    Then I really don't need i7 then...been there done that, literally 12 fsb shy of it now with 24/7 stability with this mobo...However I'd love to trade in my e8600 for an E8700 and hit 600 at a higher multi:)
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2009
  14. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,596 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    dam, that's interesting. PUSH FOR 600FSB!!!!! :laugh:
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,519 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,043
    I seem to remember a thread you started talking about the size of your minerals when it came to de-lidding your 8800. Did they shrivel since then?

    J/K But Ill sell ya a foxconn if you blow it up trying:roll:
    infrared says thanks.
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    FSB is not a bottleneck with a dual core on a desktop computer. It has more than enough bandwidth for 2 cores. It usually has enough bandwidth for 4 cores, so long as the bus is clocked high enough (around 400Mhz or so). It only becomes a bottleneck past that.
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    600fsb is no where close to i7 when you clock the mem on i7

    this is my 625fsb on ddr2

    [​IMG]
    SystemViper says thanks.
  18. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I did it!!! wooooooooo... didn't think this board could!

    I'm hot on yer heels DOM!

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 17, 2009
  19. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,500 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    DOM, love your work, have been planning some real benching for this coming week and
    have been reading up on [H] and the points system.
    I have to say i saw your profile and it's TOP NOTCH.
    you have dome some good stuff, i'm impressed :respect:
    DOM says thanks.
  20. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
    Hmmmm....It seems that google just caught something....:rolleyes:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    nice catch duncan.
    Duncan1 says thanks.
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    C'mon they're probably just rebranding old stock. I doubt there was any real innovation here.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    higher multi.

    Regular consumers dont OC, so its the fastest dual available to them, and it will make OCing easier. Odds are its a newer stepping as well.
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    What's the higher multi got to do with anything? As I said it's probably just old stock they're using, programming it to run with a 10.5 multi instead of a 10.0 multi. And yes it is probably a newer stepping since they're using newer stock.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    my point is that while it may not be anything fancy or exciting, its a newer, higher clocked chip with better OC potential.

    Over time we get better chips for the same price. its progress, not innovation.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page