1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][EU] Core 2 Duo Mobile T7200 / T7400 / T7600 / T7600G

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Sihastru, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    If anyone still has one of these older Core 2 Duos on 667MHz FSB, 4 MB cache and 64 bit capable CPU, I would be interested in buying one for my Dell Inspiron 9400 (aka E1705).

    I currently have a T2400 (that is only 32 bit capable) that I am willing to optionally trade for any of the above.

    Higher clocked model preferred.
     
  2. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    You should check your Socket type. There's two different ones, Sockets M and P. I think M is the older of the two, and was used for Core Duo processors at first. If your Inspiron is about a year old, maximum about 2, it might be using Socket P (or whichever is newer)

    I have a Socket M (older type) compatible T5x00, I'll have to check it, but it's one of the 1.66GHz ones or something. It's a Core 2 Duo, so it's got 64-bit capability, but I'm not quite sure of much else.
    Reply if interested or if you can't get a T7x00 and I'll find it for you.
     
    Sihastru says thanks.
  3. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    It is socket M, I have the same laptop with a T7200 in it.
     
    Sihastru says thanks.
  4. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Thanks for taking an interest.

    It's the socket M (socket 479 Napa Refresh), not the socket P (socket 479 Santa Rosa) which is mechanically the same, but electrically not compatible...

    A 5x00 would work, but I am looking for Intel VT part. Only some of the T5500 and T5600 have support for VT. I need 64 bit to add more RAM, and VT for some virtual machines that will run on the laptop.

    Also, since I will take the time to disassemble it and putting it back together I would prefer a higher clocked (at least 2.0 GHz) high-end-ish model.

    But if there won't be other offers, I might take you up on yours.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,222 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I have my laptop for sale with the processor in it. Maybe you could swap the chips and resell mine? I dunno lol. Check my sig for the link.
     
  6. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    That would be too complicated and too risky for me since your location is Malibu, CA. But thanks anyway.
     
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,222 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I just sold it anyway :p Bump for you!
     
    Sihastru says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page