1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo Temperature Guide Updated March 24th, 2007

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by KATANAUK, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. KATANAUK

    KATANAUK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    I have been asked by the original author to remove this guide
    as it aparently breaks USA Copyright laws see message below.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Copyright


    KATANAUK,

    I am the author of the Core 2 Duo Temperature Guide, and the Core 2 Quad and Duo Temperature Guide. These documents are under United States Copyright protection.

    The copy you have posted is unauthorized. Please delete this copy immediately and P.M. me with confirmation. If you need assistance, then contact a Forum Moderator.

    Thank you for your cooperation.

    CompuTronix
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2008
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hmm, nice find!

    Think this deserves to be a sticky! :)
  3. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is also in the C2D club thread. I posted it ages ago.
  4. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Maybe it's a good idea to have it in the main overclocking/cooling section as well/instead.

    Sorry, didn't realize you'd already posted it.
  5. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    well this info seems to match up with my test findings so far.. around 1.5v having fan cooling just isnt enough unless you wan to mount 6 fans to your case. or more maybe.. I have a full tower case to and it just simpy will not cut it if you want to break the 3.1-3.2 ghz mark.
  6. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey guys:

    What temperature would a E6600 overclock to around 3.6GHz should be?
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    on what voltage, what cooler, what ambient temperature, what thermal interface material, what case etc etc?

    There's a guide above!!! :p
  8. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :rolleyes: Voltage is on auto. I don't think other things matter because what I need to need is what is the "highest" temperature that a E6600 at 3.6GHz.

    Anyway Infrared if I may: What vcore are you running at? and what is the load of you cpu?
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    would mobile core 2's be any different?
  10. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yes it would be different. Mobil C2D is more energy efficent.
    GumCuz says thanks.
  11. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    but like with the heat level? as in how hot can it get before it starts killing itself
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hmm, i need a 1.48v Vcore for 3.5v. Unfotunatly my motherboard maxes at about this point so there's no point putting the voltage any further. Load temps are 47c max, idle is usually 30-32c

    What i meant though is that it's impossible to guess a figure for your maximum temperature at a given frequency. That's why temperature monitoring programs like CoreTemp come in handy :)

    Or have i missunderstood you, and you mean the maximum safe temperature? Personally i wouldn't let my cpu exceed 65c ;)

    Edit! -

    [​IMG]

    What's going on with your memory? :wtf:
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  13. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,581 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Tcase is hotter than Tjunc at stock speeds too...I am still using stock vcore (1.32) voltage on that OC as it's over 24hrs orthos stable.

    *UPDATE 4/22/2007*

    Setting PECI to Enabled under CPU Config and enabling ACPI 2.0 in bios set my temps straight. Now my TCase reads ~10-12c lower in everest and 13-15c in speedfan. I am almost bummed now though, as my Qfan settings in bios for performance on CPU fan now makes my fan spin slower since it reads CPU output temp, not running quite as cool it seems (coulda been wrong readings in first place), but I'm still well within the Normal range! Dunno if this works on other MB's other than P5B's...
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2007
  15. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    How much would the Intel Core 2 Duo E4300's power-usage grow when OC'd to 2,6 ghz?

    P.S. Just asking 'cos my PSU (350w) could run out of power when OC'ing...
  16. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,581 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Click the link in my sig and scroll down to links, click the eXtreme PSU link, it'll have a part of the form you can fill out to find out how much wattage your CPU can use at max load under stock to any OC you want.
  17. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Nice program. Didn't get the OC'ing -part to work for some reason though, but it seems that at stock the power-consumption is below 270-275 watts even, so it'd leave some marginal for OC'ing, at least hopefully... :D
  18. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Wow, this is extremely helpful to me now. I never understood it at first, nor did I understand why the hell my temps were up around 58*C.
  19. olovac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tcase & Tjunction RIGHT OR WRONG?

    HI ALL,
    FROM READING THIS I'VE FOUND THAT MY TCASE READING IS ACTUALLY ABOUT 10c HIGHER RATHER THAN LOWER WHEN COMPARING TO THE TJUNCTION READINGS.
    EXAMPLE OF MY READINGS:C2D 6750 O'CLOCKED @3.2, 1.26VOLTAGE
    SPEEDFAN4.33 READINGS AT 100% LOAD- CPU @ 56c
    -CORE 0 @48c
    -CORE 1 @48c
    TAT WAS USED FOR 100% LOADING.
    ARE THESE READINGS CORRECT?OR SHOULD MY TCASE(CPU) BE LOWER THAN TJUNCTION(CORE 0 & CORE 1)?
  20. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,581 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Depending on your motherboard you may have a PECI optoin under CPU Properties in your Bios. Enabling this will allow accurate readings, otherwise the readout will read higher than the core 0/1 temps.

    You're doing fine, if the core 0/1 temps are below 75C you're fine, that's approx 60C on CPU TCase. Just do the math or change that temp sensor offset to approx -22 to -25c in Speedfan to offset the incorrect reading.

    Also, you should fill out your system specs under UserCP, check the box to show them also please.

    Hope this helps! :toast:
    olovac says thanks.
  21. Mr.President New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    nice Guide man :D
  22. olovac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Kursah,
    Sorry About Specs They Now Have Been Entered.
    Can't Find Peci Option In Bios So I'll Just Do The Maths.
  23. GTX

    GTX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    nice guide thats very interesting
  24. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Well I guess this could be un-stickied now, as the original poster had to delete the info.
  25. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    why are people greedy with information? if people demanded copyrights or charged money for everything on this site then imagine what it would be to.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page