1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 or AM2? For new system build.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by macbeth, Jul 30, 2006.

  1. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For now which has better value for money? AM2 system is still alot cheaper compared to Core 2 system. Will the price for core 2 system drop in the near future and should i wait? And which combintain is better? AM2 with Sli, AM2 with Crossfire, Core 2 with Sli or Core 2 with Crossfire? I perfer His VGA cards which is ATI based cos they have a better stock cooling solution no need for aftermarket coolers.
  2. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wait
  3. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have some suggestions but its just me, i went and bought an AM2 recently it isnt in yet and i bought the 3800+ x2 (dual core) and well basically i know its the low end processor but it keeps me ready and going to get going for the future of AM2 anyway def go with Sli...it is way better than Cross fire, but as you i like ATI so i dont need crossfire or SLI right now maybe in the future but anyway, good luck with your choice i will never betray AMD even if the new Pentiums are faster i know AMD will make a AM2 chipset to blow it away eventually plus the price cut RULES
  4. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :rockout:
  5. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Hmmm...in your current situation Core2 vs AM2 it's not about the "better value for money" but what money have you decided to spend and what are you goind to do with your new system. Let me explain...Core 2 offers great performance but it costs more...if you have the money, you'll have much better performance and this is what we call "better value for money". If you want to stick to AMD with AM2 and cheap processors...you'll have less performance but cheap system...so in this case if you're a budget user...AM2 is "better value for money". You ask: Will the price for core 2 system drop in the near future and should i wait?
    No, you should not....core2 was announced 2 days ago officially...so you don't have to expect serious price drops in near future.
    Your second question about which combination will be better...after you decide which platform, it's a matter of what are you: ATI or NVIDIA fan boy. If you like ATI....go for CrossFire.
  6. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am not a fan boy of Ati or NV is just that with my budget i will probely go for 7600gt or x1600xt. The cooling solution for HIS x1600xt VGA card is good so i do not need to go for a aftermaket solution. But curuntly only a company EverTop have 7600gt with zalman coolers but is not available at my place. Anyway i just feel that it will be more cost effective if i go for a VGA card that has a better cooling solution so that i do not need to buy an aftermarket solution. And another thing is that there arent many AM2 motherboard with Crossfire out there. In fact only one that i know off one is from MSI K9A Platinum but not mush is know about this motherboard not much review on the net and not even sold in most online retailer like newegg or directron. So i have no idea on its price as well.
  7. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    440 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    same here.....

    but i'm torn between getting an X2 3800 an keep my current rig or sell my current rig at a VERY low price then get a core 2 based system.... :rockout: :rockout: :rockout:
  8. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    YOu kind of got no choice but to wait as supply for core 2 is very low, and AM2 is there, with the basic CPUs, but the 65nm new AMD processor will wait till the end of this year. Meanwhile, that should extend the life of your current setup and save you stress and cash. :D
  9. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    what i did,...is put my system on ebay :) and sold it for almost 500 dollars!!! and its def not worth that much (Even still a socket 754) and bought alot of new stuff basically to get ready for AM2 i bought the 3800+ x2 for now but plan on upgrading as well as i got a 60 dollar AM2 motherboard the total was 377 dollars which left me money to buy other things :) if your trying to sell your rig to get ready for the new stuff, i suggest you sell it soon as AMD has cut prices i dont know if you have a Intel or AMD but if its AMD with the price cut you may not get much money for your rig in a month or so
  10. Cj_Staal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    538 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Core 2!... DUO!
  11. TheDro

    TheDro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Found out that suppliers should have plenty of conroes by August 7th, so be patient.
  12. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    The prices of the intel cpu's are still inflated and should be dropping soon. Right now its more like a free for all milk the customers type thing going on.
  13. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not only the Intel Core Due are expensive. The motherboard cost more compared to AM2 motherboard too. So when shall i expect the price to be lower? If its too long i might go for AM2 instead of Core Duo.
  14. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Never!! Core 2 Duo Ftw!
  15. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Motherboards for Core 2 Duo are expensive, and the P965 chipsets don't overclock as well as 975X, and the 975X motherboards that support Core 2 Duo are over $200.
  16. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    my AM2 board/cpu and mem cost me under 300€, and it works fine overclocked to 2.5GHZ with the stock cooling
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2006
  17. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    ooooo! AM2!
  18. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    If you come from a P4 at 3.0 to a AMD 3000+ AM2 you will see that the difrence is huge ;) l
  19. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah...but if you come from a Pentium D 820(which I still have) to an Athlon 64 3200+, the difference is there in games, but in multi-tasking the D 820 is still better...
  20. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    and you will notice a big difference going from a amd 3200+ to a core 2 duo e6300
  21. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    the problem is that the e6300 is a lot more expensive than most AMD, EVEN a x23800 wich is a pretty good cpu
    btw i tought a D820 would beat a 3200+ in games, guess not
  22. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    No it does not...definately not. I get 200 points more with an Athlon 64 3200+ @ stock.

    3DMark05 w/ Pentium D 820: ~5600
    3DMark05 w/ Pentium D 820 @ 3.2Ghz: ~5700
    3DMark05 w/ Athlon 64 3200+: ~ 5700-5800
    3DMark05 w/ Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.6Ghz: ~5900-6000

    All with X800XL @ 444/540 w/ EMT
  23. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    So at 2.5 it beatS the crap out of a lot of PD8xx :laugh:
  24. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  25. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Oooooooh...um...oooooooooh??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page