1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i5 2500K overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dipsta, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    Hey guys i was wondering if you can help, i am currently on an Asrock extreme 4 gen 3 motherboard, and have the overclock set to auto 4.8... i am happy enough at the stablity running prime for 12 hours with no crashes, but don't really understand the manual overclock settings, can someone please look at my screenshot and advise.. thanks

    i am trying to keep the same clock but lower the vcore slightly what do i need to do to the other settings please note everything in the bios pretty much is set to yes.. i will reboot take pics with my phone and repost the bios settings.. thanks.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    heres the motherboard settings

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    You should set the OC method to manual and set your multiplier same as what you had on AUTO OC settings then start decreasing the Vcore slightly and boot to Windows, make some stability test run and rinse n repeat until you can find the point at which you can't boot Windows anymore, when you've found that go back to the last setting that was stable and call it a day :)
    Just don't touch the BCLK, it isn't worth to on Sandy Bridge.
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  4. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    cheers mate what about all the other 10 odd voltage settings? pll etc,,, should i touch those?
     
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    No don't touch them, you won't need anything different than Vcore to overclock a multiplier unlocked CPU that's why it is so easy to :)
    The only voltage setting you might need is the VDDQ (Ram Voltage) if you want to achieve lower latencies or higher clocks on your memory but just don't go over 1.65v, anyway memory overclocking on Sandy is not worthy to, the memory controller is already fast on its own :)
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  6. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    happy days i have used prime 95 for small ffts , do you suggest anything else? i.e occt?
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    If you really want to be sure your rig is stable use linX, I've yet to see something that stresses my CPU so much as that.
    Intel Burn Test (IBT) is good too I think that is based on linX so either way use one of them and you'll be sure your system is stable just use atleast High or Very High settings
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  8. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    cheers mate... well before u toldd me what to do i did use occt for an hour with no issues at 1.362v@4800 which seems okay i'll try linX how do you know when an error has occured?
     
  9. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    IBT will automatically tell you if your system is not stable because calculations did not give back correct results, this is if you are missing a bit of voltage.
    If the CPU is more instable you are going to have a BlueScreen with a stop exception that should be: Stop 0x00000101 "A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval"
    This is the most common, what you should read is Stop 0x00000101 : "Gief more Vcore :D"
     
  10. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    ok mate i did a 10k test which finished in 4 mins without any errors now running a 20k test! :0) i think ive sussed it, how far and for how long should i go
     
  11. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    bloody vdroop is dropping this to 1.272 at times which is far too low im guessing for 4800... any ideas? LLC to level 5?
     
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Usually 5 pass at maximum memory is enough to say your system is stable, it all depends on you... there are some people that will say "oh no you must atleast run it for one day to know if it is really stable" but in reality if your cpu does 5-10 pass of IBT no application will ever make your CPU crash because IBT puts so much stress on your CPU that regular workload will never match.
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  13. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    right fella that is great thankyou for all your useful help, i shall post back and let you know how i get on, currently on 20k, 5 passes complete... gonna got for the big one now! temps at 63 max, so thats all good, and my vcore at 1.362max, drops to 1.272 lowest under load, but o crashes thus far! :0)....
     
  14. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    probably a bit of a noob question fella what is IBT?
     
  15. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    intel burn test.. got it... lol sorry having a blonde moment! ... i have been using LinX 5 passes max memory all passed at 1.362V
     
  16. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Then congratulations, your system is stable :) 1.362V seems much better than the 1.4V you had before, lower temps and such
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    These are the settings I use 24/7. I suggest you se the bios for your overclocking. Turbo isn't necessary either.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    idle:
    [​IMG]

    load:
    [​IMG]
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  18. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    brilliant mate, thanks i'll pop them in and give them a shot :0)
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    You will probablly want to change load line callibration to 4, maybe 3. :)
     
  20. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    A small correction.

    It is not the common BSOD code. most common due to unstable overclock is code 124, which means the CPU Vcore is too low in SB. (in previous platforms it can mean low VTT as well) especially, the BSODs when idle is infuriating. The only way I could fix it was by not using LLC, which means the Vcore is actually higher under smaller load.

    Clock interrupt on secondary processor... is a bug commonly found in Asrock z68 extreme 4 (not sure on gen3). It happens only when u use the IGP. Goes away when u use a dedicated GPU. Increasing IGP voltage a tad might fix it. Couldn't test if it fixed on mine. I get that BSOD when running off the IGP.
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  21. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    Thanks guys currently still testing,
    i managed to get stable at 0.05+ offset voltage at 4.8ghz max 67degrees c with 20 passes on max mem on LINX, and i'm now trying 0.065 @5.0ghz,
    just a quicky what is Gt frequency? it is currently sat at 110-0 and the slider goes up to 3000 thanks in advance :0)
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,064
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's the IGP.
     
    dipsta says thanks.
  23. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    what difference will this make should i increase it? like i say its sat at 1100... thus far..
     
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,064
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Do you use onboard graphics or a discrete card? If you use onboard, could boost performance slightly, if you use dedicated VGA card, adjusting it will offer you nothing.
     
  25. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    right sorry, i have got it, its for the onboard graphics which i am not using, thus it can stay where it is... thank you.. :0)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page