1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core I5-3330 Bottleneck Gtx 780?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Ashu, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hey Everybody,
    Its my first post,so please forgive me If I didnt follow a template,or something like that.
    As the title suggests,I want to know if my Core i5 3330 will bottleneck a Gtx 780(Windforce 3×OC version,to be more specific :p ).I think that it will be a slight one,but will it affect the performance a lot?Another question is that I have a ASRock H71M-DGS Motherboard,does it support the Gtx 780?
    Thanks in Advanced.
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    753
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Will the card fit in the mobo? - YES
    Will you bottleneck - Maybe.. It depends on alot of things. The game, what resolution you play at, the screen size, RAM amount. Straight up no other limitations yes it will bottleneck you.
  3. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Well,I will use my pc only for gaming.I play at 1920×1080,screen size is 32Inch,8gb DDR3 1600Mhz RAM.
    So,should I get one or not?
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    At 1080p, 780 is probably a bit too powerful, consider 770 for better price/performance. No one is going to stop you from getting 780 for overkill :D
  5. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Lol,once I get it,I wont be able to get any new upgrade for next 3-4 years,and thats why I prefer Gtx 780.Dont laugh,I'm just 16,and cant anything until my parents approve it. :p
    Please help me with my main question bro.
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Much better to tell you parents you are going to settle for a cheap one now and upgrade in the future again. I am sure they will understand.

    As for your main questions, depending on game your 3330 will bottleneck the 780 (particularly RTS ones like Rome II and Civ 5), but for all other games like Battlefield 4 its a perfect match. Yes, any motherboard will be able to support any graphics card as long as you have a PCIE slot.
  7. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Well,the true problem is prices of products in India.The gtx 780 Windforce costs 500$ at Newegg,which is about 30,000Rs.,but here,it costs 60,000Rs./1,000$.So what is cheap in US is actually very costly in India.
    Alao,importing too costs a lot,the Indian Custom Laws are a complete mess,and add a 200$ Custom Tax on a 500$ product.
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    All the more reason to get something cheaper now, and upgrade again in the future unless you are planning to source a graphics card from overseas.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,979 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,749
    get the new AMD 290 non x. 780 performance for 100 $ cheaper.
  10. DayKnight

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    191 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    You like getting ripped off?. :slap:

    Newegg price 509.99$.

    509.99$ in Pak Rs.= 54,684Rs.

    509.99$ in INR= 31,905 Rupee.

    Price of that GPU:

    Here: 76,000Rs. which equals to 709$.

    In your place: 60,000 Rupee which equals to 960$.
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,158 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    yes it will be bottlenicked
    i will say go with r9 29 non-x, $400 lower power same performance and cheaper
    and think about to get i5 in future
  12. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Thank you very much guys,guess I will go with R9-290,and buy a FX-8350.
    Can you guys recommend a Motherboard(I plan to overclock) and a good but cheap 750W PSU for my new config?
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,330 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    Location:
    Gypsyland
    For the record I run a Gigabyte GTX 780 Windforce OC on an FM2 750K (fairly overclocked), and I have no complaints, though I'm running 1440p.
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,193 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    London, UK
    Send a PM to De.Das.Dude he lives in india too, he may be able to assist you find some places where you can get parts locally
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    How much % have you overclocked your Athlon II X4 750K?
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Easy to work out: Base clock is 3.4, turbo is 4. He clocks at 4.2, so its 23.5% from base clock, and 5% from turbo.
  17. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
  18. Ashu

    Ashu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Okay Guys,so I am finally falling for the Galaxy HOF Edition of the Gtx 780(Link- Galaxy 78XNH5DV8PXV GeForce GTX 780 HOF 3GB 384-bi...).
    The problem is,it requires two 8Pin Connectors.
    As you might would have seen that I am a complete noob,can you people help me find a PSU that is not only compatible for the new GPU,but also with my mobo and CPU(ASrock H71M-DGS and Intel Core I5 3330)?
    A good but cheap 750W should do it.
    Thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page