1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i5 750 Gets First Listing

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A little over a fortnight away from launch, one of Intel's first socket LGA-1156 processors, the Core i5 750 has started being listed on popular American online (and ground) retailer Fry's. Not for pre-order or expected stock, but accepting orders for same-day shipping! The processor ended up being priced just where we expected it to be: around the $200 mark (listed on roadmaps so far as $196).

    Based on the Nehalem architecture, the Core i5 750 "Lynnfield" is a monolithic quad-core processor with a clock speed of 2.66 GHz, with a QuickPath Interconnect connection to the northbridge it shares the chip package with. It features 256 KB L2 caches per core, and a shared 8 MB L3 cache. Its integrated DDR3 memory controller addresses dual-channel memory. The listing can be found here.

    [​IMG]
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to DanishDevil for sending this in.
  3. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cool but a bit expensive. For 20$ more you could also buy an i7
  4. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    im getting an i7 920 :D
  5. funnyface New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wrong info i think...should be dual channels.
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah this is a bit pricey as the 920 is within striking distance...

    Gonna wait till 32nm to upgrade.
  7. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    142 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    i will hold my opinion untill i see some benchies :) this is good news though!
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Lol at the $200,wait till you see the price of that in the uk.I wish they would be the equivelant to $200 in the uk.
  9. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    Meh it don't use QPI either.
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I'd guess £150+ for that in the uk,which is more than $200.
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It does.
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    How come british retailers can charge a lot more than intels roadmap prices? I hate the way us brits get ripped off on pc hardware prices compared to the u.s.
  13. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    because you have higher taxes and +transport what makes the product much expencive:eek: but then again if you broke an arm you dont have to bay the hospital like some people in tha most powerfull country in the world(USA):laugh:
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  15. Fernandz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    It doesn't. It use DMI for interconnect thru socket, the northbridge is on-chip, and 1156 has only 2 channels of memory. (It could use internal QPI on-chip for communication with the northbridge, but indeed is on-chip, the connection via socket is DMI to the southbridge).
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Honestly... Who gives a damn about the "southbridge" bandwidth.
    All the slow stuff goes on the "southbridge" (or whatever intel likes to call it)
  17. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  18. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Just think about it for a sec, P55 has Sata 3.0 , so those pple with SSDs will reap the benefit, this will run through the SB, I personally cant afford SSds but I am sure others will be happy about this.
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You have to understand the SB handles the connection that are "slow" relative to the other intra-system communications.
    Even the old-school QDR FSB (which has the highest bandwidth on the 775 platform) is much faster than anything the SB handles.
  20. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    I agree, some games benchies !!
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It does. So does X58. X58 connects to ICH10R using DMI, but the CPU to NB interconnect is QPI, same with Lynnfield. Its CPU to NB interconnect is QPI.

    DMI is merely a chipset bus, not a system interconnect. The on-package NB is connecting to the PCH (P55), which is a glorified southbridge, using DMI.
    MKmods and Fernandz say thanks.
  22. kylzer

    kylzer New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    So would the uncore speed be the DMI ?

    i'm sorta confused lol
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, you'll be able to play with QPI speeds just like on X58 platform.
    kylzer and Fernandz say thanks.
  24. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Say goodbye to the i7 920 people ;)
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,419 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,354
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Lol.... a close second? US national debt = over 11 TRILLION $.... UK national debt = £800 Billion, long time since I was at school but with the use of my Abacus it tells me the US debt is about 8x greater taking into account exchange rates....... so double :nutkick: to you :D

    To make it a little more subjective though with the USA's much greater population, the UK is in debt to 56% of it's GDP, the US about 71% of GDP, put that in relation to Japan who's national debt is 194% and even Italy's of 102% things dont seem so bad :)
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page