1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i5 Specifications and Prices Surface

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Can anyone tell me whats the diffrence between core I5 and Core 7 except that core 7 uses X58 and Core 5 not.

    Really dont get it.

    Well, intel got now 3 sockets in the world that is still getting made.
    That makes AMD the winner, cause all their new cpu's are compatible!


    Tell us intel, what should the consumer do, have the Core 7 just been a flop, cause this seems like... completly bullshit to me, cause Core 5 is just as fast!
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    rofl, :shadedshu
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  3. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    well, whats the core 7 premium compared to Core 5 ?....

    Amd isnt the winner like that, kinda rushed on that one, but will be winners in buyers mind, they gonna confuse the consumers like nvidia does ?

    Gives me a headache already.

    and will lga 1156 or what it was have possibility for westmere, but whats the extra pins on Core 7 for ? jeez.

    Looking at :
    This http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2008/07/17134256397l.png

    That makes a 300 mhz extra and x58 the deal with core 7 then ?. looks odd to me.

    i'd stick with one socket, and give user possibility to upgrade, and use cheap mobo's.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  4. Johnytxtc

    Johnytxtc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    China, Beijing
    bugger that
     
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Screw that, the price is simply way to high for what you are getting. This isn't C2Q all over again were we didn't have any quad cores prior to their release. And the inclusion of HT is not worth the premium when they haven't invested enough (if any at all) getting it supported in the games and programs we use every day! They need to knock that chip of their shoulders and bring the price down to a level that people are comfortable paying.
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I think this is alright... not GREAT or anything but still... I mean, the 2.66 version SHOULD perform close to i7 920 right? and the new socket motherboards are probably a 100$ cheaper compared to x58 mobos... so you save 100$ on CPU and 100$ on mobo... Then another 20-30$ on ram... for a comp that'll perform almost the same as an i7 system... a current cpu+mobo+ram i7 is about 550$, so if this is like 350~400$, it would be awsoeme no? It would be about the price of a E8500 system...

    I think this is an ALRIGHT move from intel.. not great by any means because I doubt the mobos will be THAT cheap...
     
  7. karlotta New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    A Core7 IS the Ferrari of CPUs, A Core5 is a BMW.
    A X58=24GB of RAM, AND the home for the fastest CPU, 965/975 Extreem, that will OC out the BOX to 4GZ with about three settings and on air. Nothing will be faster for awhile.If you want a Ferrari you got to pay, you want a nice fast Mustang get a AMD.
     
  8. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    That's mean we don't really need to upgrade AT ALL. Because the current mainstream cpu already good enough for gaming.
    The hardwares maker do their best for performance, the programmers are the one who need to get their games/programs multi-threaded.
    Heck, you don't even need a quad-core for gaming :rolleyes:.
     
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    That is why it's up to Intel and Intel alone to get HT up and running in the programs and games we use daily as a justifiable reason why we should consider such a CPU to begin with (no, not at a premium either). If developers are content as a whole not using it (as they did with Pentium era...which is why AMD cpus were so popular because they had more arch muscle) then it's Intels job to promote their own product, not the developers.

    True you don't need a quad core to play games no news there but neither is the need for throwing more threads into games and applications that inherently can't benefit from it. C2D and C2Q were brilliant ideas when they excluded HT because they clearly showed no need for it in the games and applications we continue to use.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  10. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    HT isn't really needed in many apps. So turn it off. It gives a huge boost in some apps. So turn it on. I fail to see how it is a negative. Triple channel doesn't do much, should they just abandon that? Quad core doesn't always do much above dual, why make quad cores? Because in some instance they do provide a nice boost, giving you the best in all apps. If your not doing mulit-threaded apps, then don't buy a multi-threaded processor. Simple as that. No reason to tell a company not to put a useful feature on it's procs though.

    Processors don't drive computers, software does. MS knew that, apple knows that, intel knows that. Intel isn't responsible for pushing HT in software, just as MS can't be expected to push drivers on hardware makers. If the consumer wants it, it will be done.
     
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Who said to interpret my post as "HT is negative" :slap:. Clearly suggesting that Intel should get more involved with developers so HT can be found in more applications and games doesn't mean that "HT is negative".

    Besides, why buy a i7 or i5 and have to constantly turn HT on or off based on what you are trying to run? That in itself is a negative :p.

    As far as triple channel memory goes, if it doesn't offer any benefit why should the average enthusiast consider it? You said it yourself, triple channel memory doesn't offer much. So perhaps you should ask yourself why should folk invest in it to begin with.

    Just because you can fine an example or 2 doesn't mean that the masses should follow suit in marching order at the premium asked for. So to answer your question, everyone is entitled to not only their own opinion when it comes to purchases like this but, they are also entitled to refrain from said purchases if there is no real benefit owning it.

    And in this example, i5 doesn't offer any real benefit to existing CPU line up for the price they are asking for.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  12. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    You were assuming your own uses were universal by saying they shouldn't have included HT on the i5. I said if you don't need it don't buy it simple as that. It is cheaper than i7 for similar performance, that's the exciting part. Level of excitement will of course vary.
     
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    No, I didn't say that they shouldn't include HT on i5. I said;
    Which is in stark contrast to me making assumptions based on my own uses were universal by saying that HT should be included in i5.

    Then I said;
    followed by;
    Which is the summary of my posts in this thread. None of which indicates what you stated.
     
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ok I'm so sorry, I guess I can't read. :respect: :rolleyes: Deja vu, I should know better than to try and have a discussion with you I suppose.
     
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  15. nazaropeth New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Zielona Gora, Poland
    If the cheapest i5 will be cost about 200$ then AMD would finally rebuild thei possition: did you notice that more and more Market PC's had an AMD cpu? Wait, the whole platform is build on AMD! AMD CPU, AMD Chipset mobo and... oh, look! An AMD GPU inside! :p May intel made fastest CPU, but is not siutable for most users. By the price of i7 CPU and mobo You may buy an AMD Phenom II + mobo on 780/790 + HD4830 + 2GB RAM = almost funcionall PC for price of two parts... If intel don't cut their prices before 3Q, then AMD would hawe a 40% of CPU sales before christmas ;P
     
    $ReaPeR$ says thanks.
  16. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Lol, you made it sound like the way Intel cpu work is "ENTIRELY" different from AMD.

    HT is not a new "feature" (Quad-cores and multi-threads are similar) , It's something that simple make the cpu more effective. Something like increasing cpu clock.
    To make a game supports many threads is a hard thing to do. But, isn't that on the programming side? The cpu read the languages, it's not WRITING it.

    It's true that many games don't require a quad-core cpu, but why are we overclocking them anyway? Because it runs not good enough at default clock!
    And that's mean we don't really need to OC them if all games and programs are multi-threaded.



    In FPS games, the game only process the things you see in front and around you in a certain radius , so, the field that you see is really small, but it's different in RTS games, or games like Empire Total War.

    Empire Total War is a new game, it's quite cpu intensive, because of all the unit on the battle field, big map too. The game only run on 1 thread out of 8, and that's thread always at 100%, and I'm running my CPU at 3.8GHz! The lag/hiccup is annoying.
     
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    That's because I never made mention nor draw any comparisons with AMD CPUs :slap:

    Perhaps that why I mentioned the Pentiums :slap:

    LOL, wut? My point was that if you want to see more implementation of HT in games and applications (instead of having to turn it on for certain apps then turn it off) it is Intel's responsibility to reach out to those developers so that it's used more.

    Even if they did use HT overclocking your CPU for CPU dependent games (in particular) would still provide better frame rates (depending on the circumstances). The very thing I've seen in applications that use HT now. :p


    That just means (if ture) that game needs to be better optimize to run on dual/quad core cpus not HT in particular. However, another example is using a 64-bit OS with 8 gigs of ram just to run TF2. This shows the other side of the spectrum.
    :p
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2009
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I am not so sure that their (Intels) pricing strategy is that far off, not suggesting personally that I mind paying this much but the mid i5 appears to be priced about the same as the 955, and even thought at stock it has less Mhz, i would expect it to at least match and at times better a 955 in most things, of course we wont know that for sure until i5 arrives. it dont look such a good deal to me however, not because of whats on offer from AMD but because of whats on offer from Intel!
     
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    From what I've been told the 2.66 GHz version does not offer HT. But I'll wait for official confirmation.
     
  20. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i5 should be better out the box than 955 ... thereby its higher calling price
     
  21. 1c3d0g

    1c3d0g

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    699 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    If you have a recent system and can wait a little, that is a good choice. Sandy Bridge is going to be a revolutionary chip, mark my words. I've seen leaked slides that talk about function-specific parts of the core which can handle encryption, encoding, etc. all by themselves. So if you're only encoding music/video files, only a specific part of the chip wakes up and becomes active, introducing tremendous power savings. I personally can't wait for Sandy Bridge and beyond... :rockout:
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,869 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    I want something that looks like this

    [​IMG]

    this will kick any mustangs arse
     
  23. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Whats with all the mention of QPI?

    I was allways under the impression that QPI IS exclusive for the i7 (1366) and the i5's will not have QPI they will still have FSB.
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,750 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,683
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, a QPI does exist between the processor and NB dice on the CPU, while between the CPU and the PCH (motherboard chipset), a standard DMI interconnect exists.
     
  25. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I wonder if it makes sense to get a Core i7 if I cant fix my current shut off issue. New mobo, ram, and cpu would almost certainly fix the issue as ive done everything else.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page