1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7 975 XE Breaks 5 GHz Barrier, With Air Cooling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Intel's newest high-end processor, the Core i7 975 Extreme Edition is gearing up for launch later this year, on course of which, it already passed a milestone. Xtreme Systems Forums member PcCI2iminal scored one with overclocking a Core i7 975 XE D0 stepping chip past the 5 GHz mark, 5015 MHz to be precise using only air cooling for the processor, with an ambient temperature of 20 °C as claimed by the overclocker. Its cooling was care of a Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120. Its partners in crime were Biostar TPower X58 motherboard, and Corsair Dominator DDR3-1866 memory. At that speed, the setup made it through a CPU-Z validation. PcCI2iminal was further able to put the chip through SuperPi 1M at a speed of 4750 MHz, where its crunch time was measured 8.672 seconds. For more pictures and screenshots, head over to the thread at Xtreme Systems.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 27, 2009
    MKmods says thanks.
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Nice I hope this isnt fake :D 5ghz on air is crazyness.
     
  3. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    Not cherry Picked?

    I wont belive it till i see more benchmarks
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    It's an engineering sample, so most likely it is very good silicon.
     
  5. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Don't you guys remember the first c2d overclocking results? They were phenomenal just like this (not 5ghz phenomenal, just phenomenal.)

    Although this makes my panties wet, I still think the reality is most people won't see that kind of overclock. Still though, dayumn
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ehhh I've just got my 920 D0 and it's hitting 4.2GHz @ 1.28V so I wouldn't be surprised.
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Why do these people take such rediculous pictures I mean for god sake stand back and get a decent picture capturing the monitor and setup.
     
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    binge,

    is it worth getting the d0?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    thats siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiick, lol yes the only way to describe that oc
    if i could afford one id do it fuck having good meals ill survive on bread and water to get one
     
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    It's a trade off. The C0 would operate sometimes with low qpi (which usually yielded higher OC), or high qpi (which wouldn't OC so high but had low temps). The D0 on the other hand seems to use excessively low VCore to overclock but requires higher QPI making the temperatures not that much lower than the C0. I can run a 4.0GHz @ 1.218V. I've seen System Viper get a great OC with his. So far D0s seem like a win. It's worth while to wait for one.
     
  11. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    So long AMD Phenom II :laugh:
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    FX81 will be out shortly which is rumored to default to 4ghz on 6 cores so who knows but this is going to be a very interesting battle
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD does not have a desktop 6-core CPU in its roadmaps for at least the next two years.
     
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,646 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,125
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    I've always thought of you as an AMD fanboy:eek: and this just confirms it:shadedshu :p

    So when exactly is "shortly"?
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Please no [more] AMD-Intel nonsense in this thread. Celebrate Core i7's epic aerial win.
     
  16. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    this is nice but i hope AMD catches up soon for the prices to go down..
     
  17. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,553 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    so these "special" chips, they just hand picked ones? So, if correct, this meant there could be other chips out there that are just as good, no?
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    road maps don't list any FX series of chips either. Yet the boards list phenom FX on them funny no?

    ES chips are already out as of 2 weeks ago. and i have been trying to tone down my AMD undertones hell i even played with a P4 on my last DICE bench :p

    i did salute the owner on XS when it happened its a great feat. the new intel designs allowing the run hotter and clock higher :D
     
  19. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    While that's awesome and all it would be better if that chip didn't cost around $1000. That's a crap load of money for an unlocked multiplier.
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Phenom FX is an idea that neither exists, nor doesn't. It was thrown out of the roadmaps when AMD realised that they could never sell Phenom for anything over $300, and that DSDC in the form we saw in Athlon64 FX 7x was a terrible, inefficient design. There is, however, no Phenom II FX that we hear of, nor do motherboard vendors "accidentally" list/print the name in their packages, BIOS, or manuals.
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i will do my best to get you some benchmarks
     
  22. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Yeah, my PHII hits 4 G @1.55 V.

    My friends PH II 940 hits 4.3 same setup, and at 1.5 V, and ive seen one hit 4.6 on pretty much the same, suicide @ 4.8 on air @ PHII, so, when every one is hitting 4.2 on theese, THEN im impressed, dont say this is a awesome feat, just that i want more proof before im blown away by the 975 XE
     
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Of what, a random Deneb ES with its name string / vendor ID messed with?
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    only if you can add 2 extra cores with a string change. why are you arguing so much with this? i have been talking to several different sources and they all have pushed this idea on me and a certain user on this forum were i got some hook ups gave me a SS or two already.
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    And Intel is due out with 8 core cpus. It's all irrelevant to the topic tho.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page